Langara English test minimums by category
Scores are from Langara's English requirements page; its programs by category list puts the Associate of Arts and Science degrees, Computer Studies and most science diplomas in Category 3. Category 2 includes every post-degree diploma (Business Administration, Data Analytics, Nursing Practice in Canada and others) and diplomas such as Accounting, Business Management, Criminology and Early Childhood Education.
Category 2 also asks for CAEL 70 with no band below 60 and PTE 56 with no skill below 55; Category 3 takes CAEL 60. TOEFL is 88 (20 in each skill) for Category 2 and 80 (Reading and Writing 20, Listening and Speaking 18) for Category 3. A score on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not stated by Langara.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Category 3: associate degrees, most diplomas | 6.5 | 80 (R/W 20, L/S 18) | 56 | 110 |
| Category 2: post-degree and career diplomas | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (20 each) | 56, no skill below 55 | 110 |
| Category 1: three listed certificates | Not listed (Langara English Test 3) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
Category 1, validity and English courses
Category 1 covers the Certificate in Arts and Science (Engineering), Education Assistant (full-time) and Social Service Worker; its list of accepted proofs names the Langara English Test at level 3 but no IELTS, PTE, TOEFL or Duolingo score.
Assessment test scores are valid for two years from the date taken. Students admitted on a test other than the Langara English Test may still have to pass ENGL 1107 or 1110, or reach LET 3, before taking some English courses. A position on IELTS One Skill Retake is not stated by Langara, and its admission requirements page says some programs ask for a higher level of English.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Other ways to meet Langara's requirement
For Categories 2 and 3, a bachelor's degree or higher from a recognized institution in an English-speaking country also counts, as do Langara's EAP Level IV (LEAP 8) and ILAC Pathway 3.3 (Level 16). Category 3 also accepts four years of full-time study in an English-language education system in a listed country.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Langara's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Langara College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 56 for Category 3 programs, and 56 with no skill below 55 for Category 2 programs. Not listed for Category 1.
Does Langara accept Duolingo?+
Yes. Duolingo 110 for both Category 2 and Category 3 programs.
What IELTS do I need for a Langara post-degree diploma?+
Post-degree diplomas are Category 2: IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band lower than 6.0.
Is IELTS 6.0 enough for Langara?+
No. Langara's lowest IELTS requirement is 6.5 overall, for Category 3 programs.
Does the Langara IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Douglas College IELTS requirement
- BCIT IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS General vs PTE Core for Canada
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy