McMaster English test minimums
Undergraduate scores are from McMaster's English proficiency page; graduate scores are from section 2.1 of the 2026-2027 School of Graduate Studies Calendar. Undergraduate TOEFL is 86 with 20 in each section (before 21 January 2026) or 4.5 with Reading, Writing and Speaking 4.0 and Listening 4.5.
Undergraduate Duolingo needs 120 with Reading 115, Writing 125, Listening 110 and Speaking 115. PTE needs 60 with 60 in Writing and Speaking. CAEL 70 (no part below 60), Cambridge 180 (176 per component) and LanguageCert Academic 70 (65 per component) are also accepted. IELTS Academic UKVI counts too.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 6.5, 6.0 each band | 86 (20 each) or 4.5 | 60 (W/S 60) | 120 (R 115, W 125, L 110, S 115) |
| Graduate (calendar minimum) | 6.5, 5.5 each category | 92 in most faculties, or 4.5 | Not stated by McMaster | Not stated by McMaster |
Graduate program examples
The graduate calendar says most faculties need TOEFL 92. Business PhD and MBA programs need 100 with Reading 22, Listening 22, Speaking 26 and Writing 24, and Engineering needs TOEFL 88 or IELTS 6.5. It adds that equivalent scores on other recognised tests may be considered and that programs may require more, so check the program page.
Undergraduate: IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted, TOEFL Home Edition is accepted, and TOEFL Essentials and MyBest are not. One Skill Retake is not stated in the graduate calendar.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →McMaster's English pathways
Undergraduates who meet the academic requirements but not the English score can be considered for MELD, a one-year McMaster English Language Development program, or STEP, a seven-week summer bridging program for those who almost meet the requirement. Each has its own lower test minimums on the undergraduate page.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
McMaster's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again: university graduates need CLB 7 in all four skills, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does McMaster accept PTE?+
Yes for undergraduates: PTE Academic 60 with 60 in Writing and Speaking. The graduate calendar names only IELTS and TOEFL, plus equivalent scores on other recognised tests.
Does McMaster accept Duolingo?+
For undergraduate direct entry, yes: 120 overall with section minimums. A graduate Duolingo score is not stated by McMaster's calendar.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at McMaster?+
The calendar minimum is 6.5 with 5.5 in each category. Many programs publish higher requirements.
Is IELTS One Skill Retake accepted at McMaster?+
Yes for undergraduate admission. The graduate calendar does not mention it.
Is the McMaster IELTS score the same as the study permit requirement?+
No. IRCC sets no minimum language score for a study permit; the university's score is an admission rule. The PGWP later needs CLB 7 for university graduates, on a General Training-type test.
Keep reading
Related
- Western University IELTS requirement
- PTE to IELTS converter
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for a Canada study permit
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy