Nipissing English test minimums
Scores are from Nipissing's English proficiency requirements page and its English Language Proficiency Policy documents for undergraduate and post-baccalaureate programs and graduate studies, both revised September 2025. TOEFL figures are on the old 0–120 scale only; a minimum on the 2026 1–6 scale is not stated by Nipissing.
Other accepted tests are CAEL or CAEL Online, 60 with no band below 60 for undergraduate and post-baccalaureate programs and 70 with no band below 60 for Nursing, the BEd and graduate programs, and Cambridge C1 at 176 with a minimum of 169.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate programs | 6.5, no band below 6 | 83; R/L/W 20, S 22 | 58, 56 in each section | Not on Nipissing's list |
| Post-baccalaureate programs | 6.5, no band below 6 | 83; R/L/W 20, S 22 | 58, 56 in each section | Not on Nipissing's list |
| Nursing | 7, no band below 6.5 | 93; R/L 20, W/S 22 | 63, 60 in each section | Not on Nipissing's list |
| BEd and graduate programs | 6.5, no band below 6.5 | 93; R/L 20, W/S 22 | 63, 60 in each section | Not on Nipissing's list |
Exemptions and the EAP route
The undergraduate policy exempts three or more consecutive years of full-time education in English, immediately before Nipissing, in Canada or a country where English is the dominant language; an IB diploma with English A at 5; AP English at 4 from an accredited US school; or GCSE, IGCSE or O Level English at B, or A or AS Level English at C. The graduate policy lists no exemptions.
Applicants who enrol in an EAP program with one of Nipissing's pathway partners receive a conditional offer and can start without further testing once they complete the agreed level. A test validity period, and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake or IELTS Online, are not stated by Nipissing.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Nipissing's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree, and CLB 7 too if you graduate from "any other university program", which must also be in an eligible field of study if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024. The lower CLB 5 applies only to college, polytechnic and other non-university programs. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in each skill (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Nipissing University accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 58 with 56 in each section for undergraduate and post-baccalaureate programs, and 63 with 60 in each section for Nursing, the BEd and graduate programs.
Does Nipissing accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo is not on Nipissing's list of approved English tests, which names IELTS, TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, Cambridge and CAEL.
What IELTS does Nipissing nursing need?+
IELTS 7 overall with no band below 6.5, or PTE Academic 63 with 60 in each section.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Nipissing?+
Graduate programs and the BEd need IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.5, or PTE Academic 63 with 60 in each section.
Does the Nipissing IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The university's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks university graduates, of degree and other university programs alike, for CLB 7 in every skill, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Laurentian University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy