Oregon State English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' international students page and International Admissions' first-year page. Graduate scores must be no more than two years old at your first term of registration; undergraduate scores must be less than two years old as of the start term. A new-scale TOEFL score is not stated by Oregon State.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (regular admission) | 6.5 | 80, at least 18 per section | 110 (with sub-scores) | Not listed |
| Graduate (Transitional Admission Program) | 6.0 | 60–79, or any section below 18 | Below 110 | Not listed |
| Undergraduate degree program (first-year) | 6.0 | 70 | 100 | 48 |
| Undergraduate Pathway (3-term) | 5.5 | 60 | 90 | 44+ |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and transitional admission
TOEFL sub-scores must all come from one test date, and MyBest scores are not accepted; the IELTS must be the Academic test. Graduate teaching assistants need TOEFL Speaking 22 or IELTS Speaking 7.0. Programs may request exceptions if your GRE Verbal is above 153, after a faculty interview, or by arranging English training at INTO OSU through the Transitional Admission Program, which is open to otherwise fully admissible degree applicants but not certificate-only applicants. Oregon State's preparation guide names only TOEFL and IELTS, while the requirements table also lists Duolingo.
The requirement is waived for citizens of, or degree holders from, listed countries including Australia, Canada, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore, South Africa, Uganda and the UK. India is not on the list. See international students.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or PTE 48
First-year degree applicants need TOEFL 70, IELTS 6.0, PTE 48, Duolingo 100 or Level 5 Academic English, or can use SAT reading and writing 560, ACT English 21, IGCSE English C or IB English A HL 5. The undergraduate Pathway admits students with lower scores, down to IELTS 5.0, PTE 41 or Duolingo 75 for the 4-term route. See the first-year page.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Oregon State sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Oregon State graduate international students page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Oregon State?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 for regular admission. Certain programs require higher scores, and IELTS 6.0 can lead to transitional admission.
Does Oregon State accept PTE for graduate admission?+
PTE is not listed for graduate admission. Undergraduates can use PTE 48 for degree admission or 44 for the 3-term Pathway.
What TOEFL score does Oregon State need?+
80 on the iBT with at least 18 in each section, all from one test date. A score on the 2026 1–6 scale is not stated.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Oregon State?+
No. India is not on the waiver country list. Programs can request exceptions, for example with a GRE Verbal score above 153.
What is transitional admission at Oregon State?+
Graduate degree applicants who are otherwise fully admissible, with TOEFL 60–79 or IELTS 6.0, can be admitted with a plan for English study at INTO OSU.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Portland State IELTS requirement
- University of Washington IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy