Rice English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies' language proficiency requirements and the Office of Admission's first-year international applicants page. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by Rice.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate | 7 | 4.5 (old scale 90) | 115 | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate first-year | 7 | 5.0 (old scale 100) | 130 | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 7, and the listed Indian universities
Graduate applicants show proficiency with a degree from an accredited US high school, college or university, a qualifying TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo score, or a post-secondary degree from an institution where the official language of instruction is English. Only the best composite TOEFL is accepted, not MyBest, and the TOEFL ITP Plus is not accepted. Scores go to ETS code 6609. Conditional admission is not stated by Rice.
Rice lists countries where English is the official language of instruction, and international universities whose graduates "will have met the English Language Requirement". India is on that list by institution, including all IIT campuses, IISc, IIM Bangalore, IISER Bhopal, BITS, Anna University, Jadavpur University, NIT Calicut, Thapar Institute, the University of Calcutta and the University of Hyderabad. Enter your institution exactly as listed and identify the language as English; do not contact the graduate office about waivers. See language proficiency requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 7 or Duolingo 130
First-year applicants whose first language is not English either complete at least two years of full-time study in an English language curriculum before applying, or submit TOEFL 100 before 21 January 2026 or 5.0 after (Home Edition accepted), IELTS 7, Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency 185, or Duolingo 130. PTE is not on the list. See first-year international applicants.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Rice sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Rice graduate language proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Rice University?+
At least 7 on the IELTS. Rice also accepts TOEFL iBT 90, or 4.5 for tests from 21 January 2026, and Duolingo 115.
Does Rice accept PTE?+
No. Neither the graduate nor the undergraduate list of accepted tests includes PTE.
Are IIT graduates exempt from IELTS at Rice?+
Yes. Rice's graduate list of international universities includes the Indian Institute of Technology (all campuses); enter your institution exactly as listed and identify the language as English.
Is every Indian university exempt at Rice?+
No. Only Indian institutions named on Rice's list, such as Anna University, BITS, IISc, Jadavpur and NIT Calicut, meet the requirement that way. Other applicants need a qualifying score.
What Duolingo score does Rice need?+
115 for graduate admission and 130 for first-year undergraduate admission.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- University of Houston IELTS requirement
- UT Austin IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy