Rutgers English requirements at a glance
Sources: Rutgers Graduate and Professional Admissions' international students page and Undergraduate Admissions' required credentials for international applicants. Business, law and health sciences programs admit separately and are not covered here.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (minimum for consideration) | 7 | Writing 4.5, Speaking 4.5, Reading 4, Listening 4 (old scale: 22 / 23 / 21 / 17) | 120–130 | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate, New Brunswick | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 115 | 53 |
| Undergraduate, Pharmacy and Nursing | Not stated separately | 5.5 (old scale 100) | 130 | Not stated separately |
Graduate: IELTS 7 and TOEFL by section
All applicants, whatever their US residency status, must prove English proficiency if their bachelor's (and master's, if any) was earned outside the US in a country where English is not the primary language. Rutgers Graduate Admissions accepts TOEFL (internet-based and Home Edition), IELTS and the Duolingo English Test. TOEFL is judged by section: Writing 22, Speaking 23, Reading 21 and Listening 17 for tests through 21 January 2026, or Writing 4.5, Speaking 4.5, Reading 4 and Listening 4 from 22 January. No overall TOEFL score is stated. Language-intensive programs may ask for more or add an interview.
Scores must come from tests taken within two years of the start of your entry semester and be sent by the testing agency; self-submitted scores may not be reviewed. The test may be waived, case by case, if you completed your entire degree at an institution where English is the principal language of instruction, shown on your transcript or in an official letter from the institution. See graduate international admissions.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 at New Brunswick
A test is required if your secondary schooling was outside the US in a country where English is not the principal language. New Brunswick accepts TOEFL iBT 79 (through 21 January 2026) or 4.5 (from 22 January), IELTS 6.5, PTE 53, Duolingo 115, MET 56, SAT EBRW 550, ACT English 21 or Cambridge B2. The Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy and the School of Nursing require TOEFL 100 or 5.5 and Duolingo 130. Scores must be from the past two years.
Rutgers may waive the test case by case if you attended an English-medium school; email the international admissions team after applying. A B or better in a college-level English Composition course at an accredited US college also exempts you. See Undergraduate Admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Rutgers sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Rutgers graduate international admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Rutgers?+
Rutgers graduate admissions sets a minimum overall IELTS of 7 for admission consideration. Some programs may require more.
Does Rutgers accept PTE for graduate admission?+
No. Rutgers Graduate Admissions accepts TOEFL, IELTS and the Duolingo English Test. PTE 53 is accepted for undergraduate admission.
What TOEFL score does Rutgers need for grad school?+
Rutgers sets section minimums rather than an overall score: Writing 4.5, Speaking 4.5, Reading 4 and Listening 4 for tests from 22 January 2026.
Can Rutgers waive IELTS for an English-medium degree?+
Possibly. Graduate applicants who completed their entire degree where English is the principal language of instruction can request a waiver, reviewed case by case, with proof on the transcript or an official letter.
What Duolingo score does Rutgers accept?+
Graduate programs set a minimum between 120 and 130. Undergraduates need 115, or 130 for Pharmacy and Nursing.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Stevens IELTS requirement
- NJIT IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy