University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Saint Louis University?

Saint Louis University (SLU) lists one set of minimum English scores for international applicants: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 110 or PTE 54. For graduate applicants the requirement is set by each program, and graduate programs may ask for more. TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years. India is not on SLU's list of exempt English-speaking countries.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Saint Louis University English requirements at a glance

Sources: SLU's English language proficiency requirements and the Graduate catalog's English language proficiency policy. TOEFL scores on the new 1–6 scale and section minimums are not stated by SLU. TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years; validity for Duolingo and PTE is not stated.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate (university minimum; programs may set higher)6.580; new-scale score not stated11054
Undergraduate first-year6.580; new-scale score not stated11054

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, set program by program

SLU says graduate requirements are determined by your program, and encourages applicants who miss direct entry to apply to INTO Saint Louis University's English language programs; conditional admission is not stated. The MS in Computer Science catalog page asks international students to demonstrate English proficiency without naming its own score. SLU also accepts TOEFL Essentials 8.5, takes scores only directly from testing agencies (ETS code 6629), and may require writing placement tests and academic English courses. See the MS Computer Science page.

Citizens of listed English-speaking countries such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa and the UK need no proof. India is not on the list. The policy, which the Graduate catalog repeats, also accepts a college-level English course at an accredited US college, or documentation that your entire high school curriculum was in English, wherever the school is. See English proficiency.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 110

First-year applicants use the same minimums: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 110 or PTE 54, or alternatives such as SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 550, ACT English 21, AP Language or Literature 4 or IB English A HL 6. Most international students also take the Saint Louis University Writing Examination (SLUWE), and undergraduates scoring 4 on it meet all English requirements. See English proficiency.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement SLU sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the SLU English language proficiency requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Saint Louis University?+

IELTS 6.5 is SLU's minimum. Graduate requirements are set by each program, and graduate programs may ask for more.

Does SLU accept PTE and Duolingo?+

Yes. The minimums are PTE 54 and Duolingo 110.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at SLU?+

Not by citizenship: India is not on SLU's country list. SLU's policy does accept documentation that your entire high school curriculum was in English.

How long are scores valid for SLU?+

TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years. SLU does not state validity for Duolingo or PTE.

What if I don't meet SLU's English requirement?+

SLU encourages applicants who do not meet direct entry requirements to apply to the English language programs offered by INTO Saint Louis University.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock