University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for SIUE?

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) asks graduate applicants for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 79, PTE 53, Duolingo 120 or MET 60, from a test taken within the last two years. India is not on SIUE's waiver list. Graduate applicants below those scores can start in the Intensive English Pathway from IELTS 5.0. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5, TOEFL 72, PTE 50 or Duolingo 110.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

SIUE English requirements at a glance

Sources: International Admissions' English proficiency requirements and the Intensive English Pathway's admission page. TOEFL scores on the new 1–6 scale are not stated by SIUE, and graduate section minimums are not stated. Tests must be taken within the last two years, and copies of score reports are not accepted.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate6.579; new-scale score not stated12053
Graduate, Advanced Pathway (Intensive English Pathway)6.0 (subscores 5.5)72–78110–115Not listed
Undergraduate first-year6.0 (no component below 5.5)72; new-scale score not stated11050

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the Intensive English Pathway

SIUE accepts proof through a degree from a primarily English-speaking country, a standardized test, its Intensive English Pathway or your academic record, such as 12 graduate credits with a B or better at a US or listed-country college. The listed countries include Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, English-speaking Canada, Ireland, the UK, Australia and New Zealand; India is not on the list. The MS in Computer Science page also lists IELTS 6.5. See English proficiency and the Computer Science requirements.

Graduate applicants below the bar can enter the Intensive English Pathway, which needs at least TOEFL 45, IELTS 5.0 with no component under 4.5, or Duolingo 80. It places graduate students in the Intensive English Program, the Advanced Intensive English Program or the Advanced Pathway, the last needing IELTS 6.0 with subscores of 5.5, TOEFL 72–78 or Duolingo 110–115. Formal conditional admission is not stated. See pathway admission.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each section

First-year applicants need IELTS 6.0 with no component below 5.5, TOEFL 72, PTE 50, Duolingo 110 or MET 53, or ACT 21 or SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 530. Six semester hours of English Composition I and II with a C or better at an accredited US college also count. Undergraduates with IELTS 5.5 and subscores of 5.0 can start in the Intermediate Pathway. See English proficiency.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement SIUE sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the SIUE English proficiency requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at SIUE?+

IELTS 6.5 for graduate admission. The MS in Computer Science page also lists a minimum IELTS of 6.5.

Does SIUE accept PTE and Duolingo?+

Yes. Graduate applicants need PTE 53 or Duolingo 120; undergraduates need PTE 50 or Duolingo 110.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at SIUE?+

No. India is not on SIUE's list of primarily English-speaking countries whose degrees qualify for a waiver.

Can I join SIUE with IELTS below 6.5?+

Yes, through the Intensive English Pathway, which accepts graduate applicants from IELTS 5.0 with no component under 4.5.

How old can my scores be for SIUE?+

Tests must be taken within the last two years, and official reports must come directly from the testing service.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock