University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Seton Hall University?

Seton Hall University leaves graduate English minimums to each college. The Stillman School of Business asks for IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 80 or Duolingo 110, and the Master of Healthcare Administration asks for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 90. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 79 or Duolingo 100, with provisional entry through ESL if needed. Seton Hall's pages name TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo, not PTE.
  • Checked against official sources · 15 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Seton Hall English requirements at a glance

Sources: the graduate catalogue's application procedures, the Stillman School of Business graduate admissions FAQ, the MHA admission requirements, the School of Diplomacy graduate admissions page and Undergraduate Admissions' international and ESL applicants page. TOEFL scores on the new 1–6 scale, section minimums and score validity are not stated.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate, Stillman School of Business680110Not listed
Graduate, Master of Healthcare Administration6.590Not statedNot listed
Undergraduate6.079100Not listed

Graduate: set by each college

The catalogue says applicants whose first language is not English, or who have not completed a US degree, take TOEFL, IELTS or another exam the department or college requires. Instruction in English in primary or secondary school, or a US degree, may make you eligible for a waiver, which you request from the college you are applying to. See application procedures.

Stillman accepts TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo, seeking TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS 6 or Duolingo 110, and waives the exam if you completed your undergraduate studies at an accredited university with English as the language of instruction. That rule names no countries, so an English-medium Indian degree may qualify. See the Stillman FAQ. The MHA asks for TOEFL iBT 90 or IELTS 6.5, with an exception only for US residents who graduated from a US college within two years (MHA requirements). The School of Diplomacy requires TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo if you did not study at an English-based institution, without a published minimum (Diplomacy admissions).

Free test: are you at Seton Hall University's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 and provisional ESL entry

If English is your native language or you have lived in an English-speaking country for three years or more, you do not need English scores. Otherwise you can send TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo in place of SAT or ACT, and Seton Hall looks for TOEFL iBT 79, IELTS 6.0 or Duolingo 100. See international and ESL applicants.

Academically qualified applicants whose English falls short may gain provisional acceptance with placement in Seton Hall's English as a Second Language program, then move into degree study after completing it. ESL admits pay a $250 tuition deposit before their I-20 application is reviewed.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Seton Hall University sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Seton Hall graduate catalogue application procedures page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Seton Hall University publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does Seton Hall need for an MBA or business master's?+

The Stillman School of Business looks for IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 80 or Duolingo 110.

Does Seton Hall accept PTE?+

None of the Seton Hall pages we read lists PTE. They name TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo, so ask your college before booking PTE.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Seton Hall?+

Stillman waives the exam for graduates of an accredited university taught in English, which names no countries. Other colleges decide waivers themselves.

Can I get provisional admission at Seton Hall without IELTS?+

Undergraduates who are academically qualified can be provisionally accepted into the ESL program and move into a degree after completing it.

What IELTS score do Seton Hall undergraduates need?+

IELTS 6.0, or TOEFL iBT 79 or Duolingo 100.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 15 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock