SMU English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Lyle School of Engineering application page, SMU's guide to graduate admissions and Undergraduate Admission's international checklist. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by SMU. Other schools, such as Cox, Dedman, Meadows and Simmons, set their own requirements.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, Lyle School of Engineering | 6.5 | 4 (old scale 80) | 110 | 55 |
| Undergraduate first-year | Minimum not stated (admitted average 7.7) | Minimum not stated (admitted average 103) | Accepted; minimum not stated | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5 at Lyle, and conditional admission
Lyle says one of the TOEFL, PTE, IELTS or Duolingo must meet its minimum, and home-based tests are eligible on approval. SMU's graduate guide, however, says international applicants for whom English is a second language must complete a TOEFL or IELTS test, and that Lyle visa students must submit TOEFL or IELTS scores. If you plan to use PTE or Duolingo, confirm with Lyle first. Departments may request scores even from applicants eligible for a waiver. See the graduate guide.
Lyle may offer conditional admission to applicants who meet the academic requirements and submit a TOEFL, IELTS, PTE or Duolingo score below the minimum; they complete the Intensive English Program before Lyle graduate courses. A waiver applies to a bachelor's or master's from an English-language institution in, or citizenship of, listed countries such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Singapore, the UK and the US. India is not on the list. See Lyle admissions.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: Duolingo, TOEFL or IELTS
SMU accepts the Duolingo English Test, TOEFL and IELTS for undergraduate admission, and says some applicants may have the requirement waived; ask your admission counselor whether you qualify. No minimum score is stated. The admitted Class of 2028 averaged TOEFL 103 and IELTS 7.7. See the international checklist.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement SMU sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the SMU Lyle application page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at SMU Lyle?+
IELTS 6.5. The Lyle School of Engineering also lists TOEFL 80 before 2026 or 4 from 2026, PTE 55 and Duolingo 110.
Does SMU accept PTE and Duolingo for graduate admission?+
Lyle's application page lists PTE 55 and Duolingo 110, but SMU's graduate guide says Lyle visa students must submit TOEFL or IELTS. Confirm with Lyle before you book.
Does SMU offer conditional admission?+
Lyle may offer it if you meet the academic requirements and submit a TOEFL, IELTS, PTE or Duolingo score. You then complete the Intensive English Program first.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at SMU?+
Not at Lyle. India is not on its list of countries whose English-language institutions or citizens qualify for a waiver.
What IELTS score do SMU undergraduates need?+
SMU states no minimum. It accepts Duolingo, TOEFL and IELTS, and its admitted Class of 2028 averaged IELTS 7.7.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UT Dallas IELTS requirement
- University of North Texas IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy