Stony Brook English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Fall 2026 Graduate Catalog's admissions requirements, The Graduate School's international students page and Undergraduate Admissions' international first-year page. The graduate pages give TOEFL only on the 0–120 scale; a new-scale (1–6) graduate score is not stated by Stony Brook.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, master's | 6.5 (no section recommended below 6) | 80; new-scale score not stated | Not accepted (dropped after Spring 2025) | Not accepted |
| Graduate, doctoral | 6.5 (no section recommended below 6) | 90; new-scale score not stated | Not accepted (dropped after Spring 2025) | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate first-year | 6.5 | 4 (old scale 80) | 105 | 53 |
| Undergraduate, English-only conditional admission | 4.5 | 55 (old scale) | 80 | Not stated |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the English-medium exemption
The catalog says applicants who are not exempt must present a minimum TOEFL or IELTS score, and scores more than two years old must be retaken. You need no test if you hold a high school diploma, bachelor's, master's or PhD from an institution where the primary instruction was in English, are a US citizen, or served as a teaching assistant at such an institution. Stony Brook publishes no country list, so an Indian English-medium degree can qualify.
At a program's request, conditional admission may be offered below the minimum; otherwise you must pass a course at the Intensive English Center first. Teaching assistants need a higher Speaking score: IELTS 7 or TOEFL Speaking 23 to teach without an Oral Academic English course. See the catalog.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 105
First-year applicants submit TOEFL 80 (4 from 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105, PTE Academic 53, ACT English 19, SAT Reading and Writing 480, IB English HL 5 or another listed exam. Applicants from native English-speaking countries, or who attend an English-medium school, are exempt. Below the minimum, the University Preparation Program offers conditional admission through the Intensive English Center. See international first-year.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Stony Brook sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Stony Brook Graduate Catalog admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Stony Brook?+
IELTS 6.5 overall, with no section recommended to be below 6. Your program can set additional requirements.
Does Stony Brook accept Duolingo for graduate admission?+
No. The Graduate School says Duolingo is no longer accepted after Spring 2025. Undergraduate admission still accepts Duolingo, with a minimum of 105.
Does Stony Brook accept PTE?+
Not for graduate admission, which asks for TOEFL or IELTS. Undergraduate admission accepts PTE Academic with a minimum of 53.
Can Indian students skip IELTS at Stony Brook?+
Yes, if your bachelor's or master's is from an institution where the primary instruction was in English. Stony Brook's exemption is based on the language of instruction, not on a country list.
What TOEFL score does Stony Brook need?+
80 for master's and 90 for doctoral applicants on the 0–120 scale. Undergraduates need 80, or 4 on tests taken after 21 January 2026.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Binghamton IELTS requirement
- University at Buffalo IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy