University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for TCU?

Texas Christian University (TCU) asks international undergraduates for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 or Duolingo 110. Graduate minimums are set by each school: the Neeley School of Business wants IELTS 7.0, TOEFL 100, PTE 68 or Duolingo 130, while the Master of Liberal Arts takes IELTS 6.5. Both name India among countries whose English-taught degrees can earn a waiver.
  • Checked against official sources · 10 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

TCU English requirements at a glance

Sources: Undergraduate Admission's FAQ for international students (last updated 28 July 2026) and transfer requirements, the Neeley School of Business graduate admission requirements, AddRan College's Master of Liberal Arts admissions and the PhD in Computer Science page. TCU publishes no single graduate minimum, and section minimums are not stated.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Undergraduate first-year6.54.5110Not listed
Undergraduate transfer6.580Not statedNot stated
Graduate: Neeley School of Business7.010013068
Graduate: Master of Liberal Arts6.58011053
Graduate: PhD in Computer Science6.590115Not stated

Graduate: IELTS 7.0 at Neeley, 6.5 elsewhere, and the India waiver

Neeley accepts TOEFL, IELTS, PTE and Duolingo, with minimums of TOEFL iBT 100, IELTS 7.0, PTE 68 and Duolingo 130. It may waive the requirement if you completed at least three years of undergraduate study in the US, earned a US graduate degree, worked in the US for at least two years, or earned an undergraduate degree taught in English at an accredited institution in a country where English is an official language, "such as" Canada, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, India, Ghana, Nigeria or Uganda. See Neeley graduate admission requirements.

The Master of Liberal Arts asks for TOEFL 80, Duolingo 110, PTE 53 or IELTS 6.5, with scores valid for two years, and exempts holders of an undergraduate degree taught in English from an accredited institution in a country where English is official, again naming India. Pakistan is not among either school's examples. See MLA admissions. The PhD in Computer Science asks for TOEFL iBT 90, IELTS Academic 6.5 or Duolingo 115; see the CS PhD page.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 110

First-year applicants whose first language is not English meet the requirement with TOEFL 4.5 or higher, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, at least three years at a high school or college where English is the primary language of instruction, or 24 or more transferable credit hours (including English composition) at a US college. In some cases the requirement may be waived for applicants with strong SAT or ACT scores. See the international FAQ. The transfer requirements page still states the requirement as TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.5.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement TCU sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the TCU international FAQ page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for TCU undergraduate admission?+

IELTS 6.5. TCU also accepts TOEFL 4.5 or Duolingo 110.

What IELTS score does the TCU Neeley School of Business need?+

IELTS 7.0 for Neeley graduate programs, or TOEFL iBT 100, PTE 68 or Duolingo 130.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at TCU?+

For Neeley graduate programs and the Master of Liberal Arts, an undergraduate degree taught in English from an accredited Indian institution can qualify for a waiver, as India is named. Undergraduate waivers depend on English-medium schooling or strong SAT/ACT scores.

Does TCU accept PTE?+

Neeley (PTE 68) and the Master of Liberal Arts (PTE 53) do. The undergraduate FAQ lists TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo only.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 10 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock