UBC English test minimums
Undergraduate scores are from UBC's English language competency page; graduate scores are from the Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies English test page. Both use TOEFL 90 with Reading 22, Listening 22, Writing 21 and Speaking 21, or 4.5 overall on the 1–6 scale with Listening 5, Reading 4.5, Writing 4.5 and Speaking 4.
Duolingo needs 125 overall with Reading 115, Listening 115, Writing 120 and Speaking 120. PTE Academic needs 65 with 60 in each skill. CAEL needs 70 (graduate applicants also need 60 in Speaking). Undergraduates can also use Cambridge B2 First, C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency at 180, or Level 600 of UBC's own Certificate in English.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 6.5, 6.0 each band | 90 (R/L 22, W/S 21) or 4.5 | 65, 60 each skill | 125 (R/L 115, W/S 120) |
| Graduate (Vancouver minimum) | 6.5, 6.0 each band | 90 (R/L 22, W/S 21) or 4.5 | 65, 60 each skill | 125 (R/L 115, W/S 120) |
One Skill Retake, online tests and validity
Undergraduate: UBC states IELTS General, the IELTS Indicator and IELTS One Skill Retake are not accepted. Scores must come from a single sitting, and for 2026/27 admission tests must be dated 1 January 2024 or later.
Graduate: "IELTS Online is accepted" for UBC-Vancouver and TOEFL iBT Home Edition is accepted, but PTE Home/Online and TOEFL MyBest are not. Tests must be within 24 months, and UBC says the Duolingo test is accepted for May and September 2027 admissions. One Skill Retake is not stated by UBC's graduate page. Programs may require higher scores.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →UBC's own English route
Graduate applicants can meet the requirement with 75% in each 600-level component of the UBC English Language Institute's EAP program, and undergraduates with Level 600 of the UBC Certificate in English, per the pages above.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
UBC's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again: university graduates need CLB 7 in all four skills, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does UBC accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 65 with 60 in each skill, for undergraduate and graduate admission. UBC graduate studies does not accept PTE Home or Online.
Does UBC accept Duolingo?+
Yes. 125 overall with Reading and Listening 115 and Writing and Speaking 120.
What IELTS does UBC require for a master's?+
The Vancouver graduate minimum is 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each band. Individual programs may set higher scores.
Is IELTS One Skill Retake accepted at UBC?+
Not for undergraduate admission. The graduate English test page does not state a position.
Is the UBC IELTS score the same as the study permit requirement?+
No. IRCC sets no minimum language score for a study permit; the university's score is an admission rule. The PGWP later needs CLB 7 for university graduates, on a General Training-type test.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Toronto IELTS requirement
- Duolingo to IELTS converter
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy