University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Universidad Carlos III de Madrid?

Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) asks for B2 English for its master's programmes taught in English, which it sets as a general rule at IELTS 5.5 to 6.5 or TOEFL iBT 4.0 to 4.5 (72 to 94 on the old scale). Some programmes ask more: the Master in Management wants IELTS 6.5, the MBA 7.0 and the Master in Finance 7.0 to 8.0.
  • Checked against official sources · 11 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

Master's minimums: general rule and stricter programmes

UC3M's postgraduate language requirements set the minimum levels and say some programmes require more on their own pages, such as Management, the MBA and Finance:

TestGeneral rule (B2)Master in ManagementMBAMaster in Finance (C1)
IELTS5.5 to 6.56.57.07.0 to 8.0
TOEFL iBT, new scale4.0 to 4.54.0 to 4.55.05.0, with 4.5 in each section
TOEFL iBT, old 0-120 scale72 to 94859595
CambridgeB2 First (FCE)Not statedAcceptedC1 Advanced (CAE)
Linguaskill160 to 179Not statedNot stated185
PTE Academic, DuolingoNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed

Waiver for degrees taught in English

UC3M does not require a test from native English speakers or from students who completed their university degree fully in English, on presentation of documentation. The page does not limit this to particular countries, so an English-medium bachelor's from India, Pakistan or Nigeria can qualify with a medium-of-instruction letter.

The Master in Finance adds that TOEFL scores must come from a single test date and does not accept TOEFL MyBest Scores. Bilingual master's need both Spanish B2 (DELE or SIELE) and English B2.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Bachelor's: B2 English to graduate

For bachelor's degrees, UC3M treats English as a graduation requirement rather than an entry test: every student must accredit B2 English before obtaining the degree. You can do this at any point during your studies with IELTS Academic 5.5 (General Training is not allowed), TOEFL iBT 72 or 4.0, a high school diploma from an English-speaking system, a UC3M level test, or by passing 60 credits in UC3M's English-taught groups.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UC3M programme page and in your offer, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Is IELTS 6.5 enough for UC3M?+

For most English-taught master's, yes: the general rule is 5.5 to 6.5. The MBA asks 7.0 and the Master in Finance 7.0 to 8.0.

Does UC3M accept PTE or Duolingo?+

Neither is named on the UC3M master's and bachelor's pages we read, which list TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge, Linguaskill and Aptis.

Do Indian students need IELTS for a UC3M master's?+

Not if their bachelor's was taught fully in English and they can document it. UC3M waives the requirement for degrees completed fully in English.

Does UC3M accept IELTS General Training?+

Not for the bachelor's B2 requirement, which says General Training is not allowed.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 11 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock