University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Central Florida?

The University of Central Florida's College of Graduate Studies sets IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 (4 on tests after 21 January 2026) and Duolingo 120 as its minimums, and certain programs ask for more. UCF accepts only TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo, so PTE Academic is not accepted. India is not named for exemption. Undergraduates need the same IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4 or Duolingo 120.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UCF English requirements at a glance

Sources: the College of Graduate Studies' international applicants page and Undergraduate Admissions' English proficiency FAQ. Section minimums are not stated by UCF. Graduate TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo scores are valid for two years from the test date.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate (university minimum)6.54 (old scale 80)120Not accepted
Undergraduate first-year6.54 (old scale 80)120Not accepted

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and who is exempt

UCF accepts English proficiency scores from TOEFL iBT, IELTS or the Duolingo English Test, sent directly by the testing agency; photocopies and expired scores are not accepted. Certain graduate programs require higher scores, so review your program's application requirements, and take all sections of the test so your scores are reported properly. Conditional admission is not stated by UCF.

You are exempt if you are from a country where English is the only official language, hold a degree from an accredited US institution, or hold a degree equivalent to a US bachelor's, master's or doctorate from a country where English is the only official language or from a university where English is the only official language of instruction. UCF publishes no country list and does not name India; the language-of-instruction route is the one that may apply to an Indian degree. Level 8 at UCF's English Language Institute with a B, or a UCF Global Pearson Benchmark score of 68 in all sub-scores, also exempts you. See international applicants.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 120

Undergraduates show proficiency with IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4 (80 before January 2026), Duolingo 120, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 520, ACT English 20 or CLT 42, four years at an accredited high school, or a prior degree from a country or university where English is the only official language. UCF says tests not on its list are not endorsed, and PTE is not on it. See the undergraduate FAQ.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UCF sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UCF graduate international applicants page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UCF?+

IELTS 6.5 is the university minimum. Certain graduate programs require higher scores, so check your program's requirements.

Does UCF accept PTE?+

No. UCF accepts TOEFL iBT, IELTS or the Duolingo English Test for graduate admission, and PTE is not on the undergraduate list either.

What Duolingo score does UCF need?+

120 for graduate and undergraduate admission. Graduate Duolingo scores are valid for two years from the test date.

Can Indian students skip IELTS at UCF?+

UCF does not name India. Its exemption covers a degree from a university where English is the only official language of instruction, so check whether your university qualifies.

What TOEFL score does UCF need on the new scale?+

4 for tests taken after 21 January 2026, or 80 on the old 0–120 scale, for both graduate and undergraduate admission.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock