USF English requirements at a glance
Sources: International Admissions' graduate academic requirements and freshman academic requirements. Section minimums and conditional admission are not stated by USF.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 110 | 53 |
| International first-year undergraduate | Not accepted (SAT, ACT or CLT used) | Not accepted (SAT, ACT or CLT used) | Not accepted | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 53
Applicants from a country where English is not the official language submit one approved test, earned within two years of the intended term of entry; applications with scores below the minimum are denied. Besides IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo and PTE, USF accepts Cambridge B2 First 176 (sub-scores 169), C1 Advanced 180, C2 Proficiency 200, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, GRE Verbal 153 or GMAT Verbal 30. Ask your program about any higher requirement. See graduate requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Waivers, India and undergraduate rules
USF's English-speaking country list includes Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore, the UK and the US; India is not on it. A B or better in the equivalents of ENC 101 and ENC 102 at a US regionally accredited institution can waive the requirement, and other alternatives are set out in the USF academic catalog.
International first-year applicants from non-English-speaking countries must show English through SAT Reading and Writing 490, ACT English 17 and Reading 19, or CLT Verbal Reasoning and Writing 38. USF says it does not accept TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo or other English tests as substitutes. See freshman requirements.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement USF sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the USF international graduate requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at USF?+
IELTS 6.5, earned within two years of your intended term of entry. USF does not state band minimums.
Does USF accept PTE?+
Yes, for graduate admission, with PTE Academic 53. First-year undergraduates cannot use PTE or any other English test.
Can I use my GRE instead of IELTS at USF?+
Yes. USF lists a GRE Verbal score of 153 or a GMAT Verbal score of 30 as ways to show English proficiency for graduate admission.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at USF?+
No. India is not on USF's list of English-speaking countries. A B or better in the equivalents of ENC 101 and ENC 102 at a US institution can waive the requirement.
Do international freshmen need IELTS for USF?+
No, and it does not count. USF uses SAT, ACT or CLT section scores and does not accept TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo as substitutes.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Clemson IELTS requirement
- University of Arizona IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy