University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Michigan-Flint?

The University of Michigan-Flint asks graduate applicants for IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79 (4.5 for scores after 16 January 2026), PTE 56 or Duolingo 110, from the past two years. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 72 or 4, PTE 59 or Duolingo 100. India and Pakistan are not on UM-Flint's exempt-country list.
  • Checked against official sources · 15 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UM-Flint English requirements at a glance

Sources: the Office of Graduate Programs' English proficiency page, the exempt-country list and the first-year international required documents page. Section minimums are not stated. Undergraduate score validity is not stated.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate6.579; or 4.5 for scores after 16 Jan 202611056
Undergraduate first-year6.072 (2025 and earlier); 4 (2026 and after)10059

Graduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 56

If English is not your native language, send a score from the past two years: TOEFL iBT 79 (institution code 1853) or 4.5 for scores after 16 January 2026, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, IELTS Academic 6.5 (not General Training), Duolingo 110, Cambridge English 176, PTE Academic 56, Michigan English Test 52 or the ECPE certificate. A degree from a regionally accredited US college also counts. See graduate English proficiency.

A bachelor's or higher completed in a country on the exempt list, with English as the medium of instruction, removes the requirement. The list includes the Philippines, Singapore, Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana and the UK, but not India or Pakistan, and UM-Flint may still ask for proof if your institution was not English-medium. US citizens and permanent residents may ask the Director of Graduate Programs for a waiver, and some programs allow no exceptions; Physician Assistant (MS) applicants have their own rules. Conditional admission is not stated.

Free test: are you at the University of Michigan-Flint's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or PTE 59

First-year applicants meet the requirement with IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 72 (2025 and earlier) or 4 (2026 and after), TOEFL Essentials 8, Duolingo 100, PTE 59, MET 53, iTEP 3.5, ELS Level 112, ACT English 20, SAT Reading 480, or set grades in AP, IB or IGCSE English. You can upload scores in iService, except Duolingo, which must come from the testing agency. Four years at a US high school with C or better in English, or citizenship or schooling in an exempt country, may also count. See required documents.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UM-Flint sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UM-Flint graduate English proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where the University of Michigan-Flint publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for a master's at UM-Flint?+

IELTS Academic 6.5 from a test taken in the past two years. General Training is not accepted.

What PTE score does UM-Flint need?+

PTE Academic 56 for graduate programs and 59 for first-year undergraduates.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at UM-Flint?+

No. India is not on UM-Flint's English proficiency exempt-country list.

What TOEFL score does UM-Flint accept on the new scale?+

Graduate applicants need 4.5 for scores after 16 January 2026; first-year undergraduates need 4.

Does UM-Flint accept Duolingo?+

Yes. Graduate applicants need 110 and undergraduates 100, and Duolingo scores must be sent directly from the testing agency.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 15 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock