UMass Dartmouth English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's language proficiency requirements and waivers (updated September 2026) and program-specific requirements, and the international undergraduate application page. The TOEFL/IELTS code is 3786. Unofficial scores are accepted for review; official scores are needed for enrolment.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (any program) | 6.0 | 72 (new scale 4) | 95 where accepted | 52 |
| Graduate teaching assistantship | 6.5 | 79 (new scale 4) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Graduate: business, chemistry, computer and electrical engineering | 6.5 | 80 (new scale 4) | 110 | 58 |
| Graduate: Engineering and Applied Science PhD | 6.5 | 90 (new scale 4.5) | 120 | 60 |
| Graduate: Nursing PhD | 6.5 (6.0 in each section) | 84 (Speaking 24) | Not accepted | 55 (none below 50) |
| Undergraduate | 6.0 | 79 (new scale 4) | 105 | 53 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.0 base, 6.5 for many programs
The minimum for entrance to any program is TOEFL iBT 72 (4 on the 2026 TOEFL), IELTS Academic 6.0 or PTE Academic 52, and 79 or IELTS 6.5 for a teaching assistantship. Many programs also accept Duolingo at 95, but not Art Education, Biology/Marine Biology, Nursing (MS, DNP, PhD), Clinical Psychology or Public Policy. See language requirements and waivers.
On the program-specific page, Accounting, the MBAs, Finance, Healthcare Management, Technology Management, Chemistry/Biochemistry, Computer Engineering MS and Electrical Engineering MS and PhD ask for TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110 or PTE 58. The Computer Science MS and Data Science MS list no higher score, so the 6.0 base applies.
The test is waived for a degree from the US or from listed countries where English is an official language and the language of higher education, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore and the UK; for degrees from four named universities in Lebanon, Bulgaria, Greece and Turkey; or after two full-time semesters of US study. India and Pakistan are not listed, and UMass Dartmouth states that a medium of instruction (MOI) letter does not meet its exemption requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or Duolingo 105
Undergraduate minimums are TOEFL 79 (4 on the new scale), IELTS 6.0, Cambridge English 176, Duolingo 105, TOEFL Essentials 9.0, PTE 53 or ELS level 112. You can waive the score if your secondary school confirms in writing that instruction is in English, or you follow the IB, attend an American school or take Cambridge IGCSE/O Level and A Level exams. Students who fall short may join the Gateway Program before full degree admission. See international undergraduate application.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UMass Dartmouth sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UMass Dartmouth language proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at UMass Dartmouth?+
IELTS 6.0 is the base. Business programs, Chemistry/Biochemistry, Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering ask for 6.5.
What IELTS score does the UMass Dartmouth Computer Science MS need?+
The program-specific page lists no higher score for the Computer Science MS, so the IELTS 6.0 university minimum applies.
Does UMass Dartmouth accept an MOI letter instead of IELTS?+
No for graduate admission: the Graduate School states that a medium of instruction letter does not meet its exemption requirements, and India is not on its waiver list.
Does UMass Dartmouth accept Duolingo?+
Many graduate programs accept Duolingo 95, or 110 to 120 in some programs, but nursing, biology, clinical psychology and a few others do not. Undergraduates need 105.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UMass Amherst IELTS requirement
- UMass Lowell IELTS requirement
- All 874 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 10 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy