University English requirements

What IELTS score does the University of New Brunswick require?

The University of New Brunswick asks most undergraduates for IELTS Academic 6.5, PTE Academic 59 or Duolingo 115, rising to IELTS 7.0 for Nursing, Education and Arts in Fredericton and Nursing and Health Sciences in Saint John. The School of Graduate Studies sets IELTS Academic 7 overall, PTE 65 and Duolingo 125, and does not accept the online IELTS. CBSE and CISCE students can be exempt.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UNB English test minimums

Undergraduate scores are from UNB's English language requirements page; graduate scores are from the School of Graduate Studies international applicants page, which says some programs set higher standards on their own listings. Band-by-band IELTS minimums are not stated by UNB at either level.

Undergraduates can also use CAEL 60 or Cambridge B2 First, C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency 176; the higher-requirement programs ask CAEL 80, Cambridge C1 Advanced 190 or UNB Fredericton's ELP Assessment at 85. Graduate applicants can use MET 64 with no section below 59, CAEL 80, or Cambridge C1 Advanced 180 with no area below 169; TOEFL ITP is not accepted.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTPTE AcademicDuolingo
Undergraduate (most programs)6.5 (Academic or Academic Indicator)85 (pre-2026) or 4.5 (S/W 4.5)59115
Undergraduate Nursing, Education, Arts, Health Sciences7.0100 (pre-2026) or 5.068130
Graduate (School of Graduate Studies)7.0 overall; online version not accepted94 with TWE 25 (pre-2026) or 5.0 (S/W 4.5)65125, no subscore below 105

Exemptions, including CBSE and CISCE English

Undergraduates need no test with India's CBSE or CISCE year 12 English at 75% or more, with GCE A Level English Literature at C, IB English A: Language and Literature at 5, or after at least one year at an English-speaking high school in one of UNB's listed countries (four years for Nursing and Health Sciences). UNB can still require proof before you register.

Graduate applicants are exempt if they studied at an English-speaking institution for more than two years within the last five years, or apply from a listed country. Graduate Studies issues no waivers based on language tests, and applications are not reviewed until the requirement is met and uploaded. A test validity period, and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake, are not stated by UNB.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Conditional admission: PAEP and Saint John College

Undergraduates without a qualifying score can be admitted on condition of full-time English training at UNB, which UNB says still allows a study visa. In Fredericton, PAEP students with IELTS 5.5 or 6.0 can take academic courses in select faculties alongside English for Academic Purposes. In Saint John, Saint John College runs a four-level EAP program for IELTS 2.0 to 5.5 and a one-semester ESL Support Program.

Study permit and PGWP: separate rules

UNB's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree, and CLB 7 too if you graduate from "any other university program", which must also be in an eligible field of study if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024. The lower CLB 5 applies only to college, polytechnic and other non-university programs. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in each skill (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).

Frequently asked questions

Does UNB accept PTE?+

Yes. PTE Academic 59 for most undergraduate programs, 68 for the higher-requirement programs, and 65 for School of Graduate Studies admission.

Does UNB accept Duolingo?+

Yes. 115 for most undergraduate programs, 130 for Nursing, Education, Arts and Health Sciences, and 125 with no subscore below 105 for graduate admission.

Do CBSE students need IELTS for UNB?+

Not for undergraduate admission if they have CBSE or CISCE year 12 English at 75% or more, though UNB reserves the right to ask for proof before registration.

What IELTS do I need for a master's at UNB?+

IELTS Academic with a minimum overall band of 7, and the online version is not accepted. Some programs set a higher standard.

Does the UNB IELTS score count for the PGWP?+

No. The university's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks university graduates, of degree and other university programs alike, for CLB 7 in every skill, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock