University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for UNC Charlotte?

UNC Charlotte's Graduate School requires TOEFL iBT 4.5 (83 on tests before 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115, and names only those three tests. Applicants below the minimum cannot be admitted but may study at its English Language Training Institute first. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0 with 5.0 per section, TOEFL 70, Duolingo 105 or PTE 48, and India is on the undergraduate exempt list.
  • Checked against official sources · 4 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UNC Charlotte English requirements at a glance

Sources: Graduate Admissions' international applicants page and Undergraduate Admissions' proof of English proficiency page with its exempt country list.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate School6.54.5 (old scale 83)115Not accepted
Undergraduate (full admission)6.0, each section 5.070, each section 14; new-scale score not stated10548, each section 35

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL or Duolingo only

Any graduate applicant whose native language is not English must submit an official TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo score sent by the testing agency. The minimums are TOEFL iBT 4.5 on the new 1–6 scale (tests taken before 21 January 2026 are accepted at the previous 83 while still valid for two years), IELTS 6.5 overall and Duolingo 115. TOEFL MyBest scores are accepted if you send all your individual scores. Completing ELTI Level 5 with a B (80%) or higher also qualifies.

You are exempt after at least one academic year of post-secondary study in the US or an approved country within five years of your start term, or one full calendar year of English-heavy professional work there. Approved countries include Australia, Canada except Québec, Kenya, Nigeria, the Philippines, Singapore and the UK; India is not on the graduate list. Applicants who miss the minimum cannot be admitted, but may enroll at ELTI and apply once proficient. See graduate international admissions.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0, PTE 48, India exempt

Full undergraduate admission needs TOEFL iBT 70 (14 per section), IELTS 6.0 (5.0 per section), Duolingo 105, PTE Academic 48 (35 per section), SAT EBRW 500, ACT Critical Reading 19 or ELTI Level 5, among other routes. Scores are valid for two years, and meeting the minimum does not guarantee admission.

You do not need to submit proof if you are applying for conditional admission through ELTI, or if you are a citizen of and currently studying in a country on UNC Charlotte's exempt country list, which includes India. See proof of English proficiency.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UNC Charlotte sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UNC Charlotte Graduate Admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UNC Charlotte?+

IELTS 6.5 overall. The Graduate School does not state section minimums.

Does UNC Charlotte accept PTE?+

Not for graduate admission, which asks for TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo. For undergraduates, PTE Academic 48 with 35 in each section is accepted.

Can I get conditional admission at UNC Charlotte without IELTS?+

Graduate applicants below the minimum cannot be admitted, but may enroll at the English Language Training Institute and apply later. Undergraduates can apply for conditional admission through ELTI.

Are Indian students exempt from UNC Charlotte's English test?+

For undergraduates, yes, if they are Indian citizens currently studying in India; India is on the undergraduate exempt list. India is not on the Graduate School's approved list.

What TOEFL score does UNC Charlotte need on the new scale?+

4.5 out of 6 for graduate admission. Tests taken before 21 January 2026 are accepted at 83 while still valid.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock