University of Dayton English requirements at a glance
Sources: International Admission's graduate English proficiency page, the Intensive English Program page and the 2026–2027 Undergraduate Catalog's international students section. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by the University of Dayton.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (full admission) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 110 | 60 |
| Undergraduate (full admission) | 6.0 | 70 (old scale); new-scale score not stated | 100 | 50 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and conditional admission
UD also accepts iTEP 4.5, an ELS Level 112 certificate or Cambridge C1 Advanced 160, sent directly from the testing centre with code 1834. Some graduate programs require a higher score for full admission. Conditionally admitted graduate students complete the Intensive English Program through its Graduate Academic level, after which they are fully admitted with no further test scores needed. See the Intensive English Program.
You are exempt with a bachelor's or higher from a regionally accredited US institution, or from an institution teaching in English in Australia, Belize, English-speaking Caribbean countries, English-speaking provinces of Canada, Ghana, Ireland, New Zealand, Singapore, Nigeria or the UK. India is not on the list. See graduate English proficiency.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0, or conditional admission
Undergraduates submit TOEFL 70, IELTS 6.0, iTEP 4.0, PTE Academic 50 or Duolingo 100, or an ACT English score of 21. Applicants below these scores may be considered for conditional admission and must complete the Intensive English Program, or reach a minimum score, before full admission to an academic program. See the Undergraduate Catalog.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement the University of Dayton sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the University of Dayton graduate English proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at the University of Dayton?+
IELTS 6.5 for full admission. Some graduate programs require a higher score, so check your department.
Does the University of Dayton accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. Graduate minimums are PTE Academic 60 and Duolingo 110; undergraduates need PTE 50 or Duolingo 100.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at the University of Dayton?+
No. The exemption covers degrees from English-medium institutions in listed countries such as Australia, Canada, Ghana, Nigeria, Singapore and the UK, and India is not one of them.
Can I get conditional admission at UD with a low IELTS?+
Yes. Conditionally admitted graduate students complete the Intensive English Program through the Graduate Academic level, then are fully admitted without new test scores.
What TOEFL score does the University of Dayton need?+
4.5 on the current scale or 80 on the previous scale for graduate admission. Undergraduates need 70 on the internet-based test.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Wright State IELTS requirement
- University of Cincinnati IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy