University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of South Carolina?

The University of South Carolina Graduate School asks for IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT 4.0 on the new scale (80 on the old), PTE Academic 53 or Duolingo 120, with scores valid for two years. It does not waive the test for English-medium study alone, and India is not on its exempt list. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 77, PTE 53 or Duolingo 115.
  • Checked against official sources · 9 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

University of South Carolina English requirements at a glance

Sources: the Graduate School's international applicants page and English proficiency exempt list, Undergraduate Admissions' international applicants page and English Programs for Internationals' future students page. Section minimums are not stated by the University of South Carolina.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate6.54.0 (old scale 80)12053
Undergraduate first-year6.577; new-scale score not stated11553

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and no English-medium waiver

Accepted tests are TOEFL iBT (including the Home Edition and Paper Edition), IELTS Academic, PTE Academic and Duolingo. Scores must come directly from the testing service and are valid for two years. Use TOEFL code 5818; for IELTS there is no numerical code, so choose "University of South Carolina, Columbia Graduate Admissions"; for Duolingo choose "University of South Carolina Graduate Admissions". You can apply before your scores arrive. See graduate international applicants.

You are exempt only if you are from, or earned a degree in, a country where English is an official language. The Graduate School says it does not waive the requirement based solely on language of instruction, so an English-medium degree from a country that is not on the list still needs a score. The exempt list includes Pakistan, the Philippines, Nigeria and Singapore, but not India. Departments may require scores regardless. See the exempt list. Some departments offer graduate conditional admission through English Programs for Internationals (EPI). See EPI future students.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5, PTE 53 or Duolingo 115

First-year applicants need TOEFL iBT 77 (550 paper), IELTS 6.5, PTE 53, Duolingo 115, SAT EBRW 560 or ACT English 22. Scores are not required from students in countries on the university's list where the primary language of instruction is English, or from graduates of US high schools; India is not on that list. Applicants below the minimum can apply for conditional admission through EPI, and the International Accelerator Program is a one-year transition program leading to a four-year degree. See international applicants.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement the University of South Carolina sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the University of South Carolina Graduate School international applicants page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at the University of South Carolina?+

IELTS Academic 6.5. Departments can set higher requirements.

Does the University of South Carolina accept PTE and Duolingo?+

Yes. Graduate applicants need PTE 53 or Duolingo 120; undergraduates need PTE 53 or Duolingo 115.

Can Indian students get an English waiver at South Carolina with an English-medium degree?+

No. The Graduate School does not waive the requirement based solely on language of instruction, and India is not on its exempt list.

What is the University of South Carolina IELTS code?+

There is no numerical code. Choose "University of South Carolina, Columbia Graduate Admissions" for electronic delivery.

How long are scores valid for South Carolina?+

Graduate language test scores are valid for two years.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 9 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock