UTEP English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's applicant timelines page, its exempt-country list, the Student Assessment and Testing required scores page and Undergraduate Admissions' international page. Section minimums and graduate score validity are not stated on the pages read.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (Graduate School minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 110 | 53 |
| Undergraduate | Not accepted | 3.5 (old scale 61) | 100 | 44 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the exempt-country list
Graduates of institutions outside the US where English is not the first language take TOEFL, IELTS, PTE or Duolingo, with scores sent directly to the Graduate School (code 6829). UTEP does not accept the TOEFL ITP from other institutions, and the testing page also lists TOEFL Essentials at 8.5. Programs may ask for more, for example for teaching assistants. Note that UTEP says three-year BA, BSc and BCom degrees from India are not equivalent to a US bachelor's.
The Graduate School's exempt list includes Australia, Bhutan, Canada, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, the Philippines, Singapore and the UK. India is not on it. Conditional admission for English is not stated. See applicant timelines.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: no IELTS, use TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo
UTEP's undergraduate page says it does not accept IELTS scores for admission. International applicants submit TOEFL (61 before 21 January 2026, 3.5 after), PTE 44, PAA 1000, SAT or ACT, and the testing page adds Duolingo 100. A waiver is automatic for students from countries where English is the native language or the official language of academic instruction; India is not named. See international admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UTEP sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UTEP Graduate School applicant timelines page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UTEP?+
IELTS 6.5 overall band. Programs might have different minimum score requirements.
Does UTEP accept IELTS for undergraduate admission?+
No. UTEP says it does not accept IELTS scores for undergraduate admission. Use TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo instead.
Does UTEP accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. Graduate minimums are PTE 53 and Duolingo 110; undergraduate minimums are PTE 44 and Duolingo 100.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at UTEP?+
No. India is not on the Graduate School's list of English language proficiency exempt countries.
What TOEFL score does UTEP need on the new scale?+
4.5 for graduate admission and 3.5 for undergraduate admission on tests from 21 January 2026, or 79 and 61 on the old scale.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UTSA IELTS requirement
- UT Arlington IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy