University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Cal State Long Beach?

Cal State Long Beach lists two English levels. The post-baccalaureate level, which has no separate graduate column, needs IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 (4.0 after 21 January 2026), Duolingo 115 or PTE Academic 58. India is not on CSULB's waiver country list, though a US regionally accredited bachelor's or master's waives the requirement. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 3.5, Duolingo 105 or PTE 43.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Cal State Long Beach English requirements at a glance

Sources: International Admissions' English language requirement and graduate admissions requirements. The graduate page sends applicants to the English page, which gives only undergraduate (bachelor's) and post-baccalaureate scores. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by CSULB.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Post-baccalaureate (no separate graduate column)6.54.0 (old scale 80)11558
Undergraduate (bachelor's)6.03.5 (old scale 61)10543

Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the waiver countries

CSULB accepts TOEFL (Home Edition included, MyBest not), IELTS, Duolingo, PTE, Eiken, Cambridge English (169 at post-baccalaureate level) and completion of Level 6 at its American Language Institute. Duolingo is not listed on Cal State Apply, so choose "I Am Not Adding Any Standardized Tests" and release your Duolingo report to CSULB after applying. Graduate departments make the final decision and may set higher requirements; conditional admission is not stated by CSULB.

The requirement is waived with a bachelor's or master's from a US regionally accredited institution, or if you were educated in a listed country such as Australia, Canada (Quebec excluded), England, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Scotland, South Africa or Wales. India is not on the list. CSULB does name India on its graduate page: holders of a three-year bachelor's are encouraged to fill out a degree equivalency questionnaire.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or PTE 43

Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 3.5 (61 before 21 January 2026), Duolingo 105, PTE 43, Eiken Pre-1, Cambridge 162 or ALI Level 4. First-years are exempt after at least three years at a US high school, or all three years at a US regionally accredited school abroad; transfers are exempt with over 60 transferable semester units from a US institution. See the English language requirement.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Cal State Long Beach sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the CSULB English language requirement page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Cal State Long Beach?+

CSULB's English page lists IELTS 6.5 at post-baccalaureate level and gives no separate graduate score. Your department may set a higher requirement.

Does CSULB accept PTE?+

Yes. PTE Academic 58 at post-baccalaureate level and 43 for undergraduate admission.

What Duolingo score does CSULB need?+

115 at post-baccalaureate level and 105 for undergraduates. Release your official report to CSULB after applying, because Cal State Apply does not list Duolingo.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at CSULB?+

No. India is not on the waiver country list. A bachelor's or master's from a US regionally accredited institution does waive the requirement.

What TOEFL score does CSULB need on the new scale?+

4.0 at post-baccalaureate level and 3.5 for undergraduates on tests taken after 21 January 2026, or 80 and 61 on the old scale.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock