CSUSB English requirements at a glance
Sources: International Admissions' steps to apply and graduate student page. The TOEFL school code is 4099 (TOEFL ITP is not accepted, the Home Edition is). Send IELTS through the "Cal State Apply" e-delivery account, and send PTE and Duolingo from your test account. All exams must be valid within the last two years.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 5.5 | 61 (new TOEFL 3.5) | 95 | 43 |
| Graduate (most programs) | 6.0 | 79 (new TOEFL 4) | 105 | 53 |
| MBA, MPA, MS Accountancy | 6.5 | 79 (new TOEFL 4) | 110 (MBA) | 53 |
| Communication & Media, English Composition MA; Creative Writing MFA | 6.5 | 90 (new TOEFL 5.5) | Not stated separately | Not stated separately |
Graduate admission: IELTS 6.0, with higher bars
The graduate minimum is TOEFL 79 (before 21 January 2026) or 4 (on or after), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105, PTE 53, iTEP 4.4, or level 4 of CSUSB's English Language Program. The MBA, MPA and MSA need IELTS 6.5, the MBA needs Duolingo 110 and some other graduate programs also ask for 110. Communication & Media, English Composition (including TESL) and the Creative Writing MFA need TOEFL 90 (5.5 on the new scale) or IELTS 6.5. See steps to apply and the graduate student page.
Free test: are you at Cal State San Bernardino's score yet?
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Free test: take an IELTS mock →Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.
Waivers: what counts as English-medium
Graduate applicants are exempt with a bachelor's or master's from a US college, or from a university outside the US where English is the principal language of instruction. CSUSB defines that as a country where English is the daily language of most residents and teaching is in English at all levels, and lists the qualifying countries: they include Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Zambia, the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and Canada (except Quebec, northern New Brunswick and Nunavut). India, Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh are not on the list, so a degree taught in English there does not qualify on its own.
Freshmen are exempt after three or more years at a US high school or a high school in a listed country, and transfers after English Composition with C- or better at a US college, or three years at an English-medium university in a listed country.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement CSUSB sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the CSUSB steps to apply page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Minimum vs competitive score
Where Cal State San Bernardino publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.
Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.
If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at CSUSB?+
IELTS 6.0 for most programs, 6.5 for the MBA, MPA, MS in Accountancy and some English and communication programs.
What Duolingo score does CSUSB need for the MBA?+
110. Most other graduate programs need 105.
Does CSUSB accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE 53 for graduate study and 43 for undergraduates.
Is an Indian English-medium degree enough for a CSUSB waiver?+
No. India is not on CSUSB's list of countries where English is the principal language of instruction.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Cal Poly Pomona IELTS requirement
- UC Riverside IELTS requirement
- Cal State Fullerton IELTS requirement
- All 1288 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy