City College English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' FAQ, the Computer Science admissions page, the Electrical Engineering and MPA admissions pages, and CUNY's score comparison for four-year colleges. Each program page lists its own minimum, so check yours.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (college minimum) | 6.5 | 61 | Not stated | Not stated |
| MS Computer Science | 6 | 73 | Not stated | Not stated |
| M.E. Electrical Engineering | 6.5 | 73 (new scale 4.5) | 95 | 49 |
| Master of Public Administration | 6.5 | 79 (new scale 4.5) | 100 | 53 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 6.0 | 61 | 85 | 44 |
Graduate: 6.5 floor, program minimums vary
The FAQ gives TOEFL 61 or IELTS 6.5 as required minimums but warns that several programs require more. The test is not required of natives of countries where English is the official language, of students with a bachelor's or master's (or two full years of non-technical study) from such a country, or of US permanent residents and citizens. A degree from a foreign institution where English is the medium of instruction does not exempt you. Scores are valid for two years from the test date, and the institution code is 2083. See the graduate FAQ.
CUNY's central graduate international page says students from India, Bangladesh and Pakistan must still take the test. The MS in Computer Science adds that a three-year bachelor's degree is not considered sufficient for graduate study at CCNY. International students admitted with conditions must complete prerequisite courses before starting, because no I-20 is issued on conditional admission.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 through CUNY
International applicants from non-English-speaking countries submit TOEFL, IELTS, PTE or Duolingo through the CUNY application. CUNY's table lists City College at TOEFL 61, IELTS Academic 6, PTE 44 and Duolingo 85. Scores go to CUNY code 2950. See the CUNY score comparison.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement City College sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the CCNY graduate admissions FAQ page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at City College of New York?+
IELTS 6.5 is the general graduate minimum, but programs set their own; the MS in Computer Science lists IELTS 6.
Does an English-medium degree waive IELTS at CCNY?+
No. CCNY says a degree from a foreign institution taught in English still requires the test.
Does CCNY accept a three-year bachelor's for the MS in Computer Science?+
No. The Computer Science department says a three-year bachelor's is not sufficient for graduate study at CCNY.
Does City College accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Some programs list them: Electrical Engineering accepts PTE 49 or Duolingo 95, and the MPA PTE 53 or Duolingo 100.
What IELTS score do CCNY undergraduates need?+
IELTS Academic 6.0, or TOEFL 61, PTE 44 or Duolingo 85.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Hunter College IELTS requirement
- Baruch College IELTS requirement
- All 874 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 10 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy