East Texas A&M English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's master's student handbook and International Undergraduate Admissions' undergraduate page. TOEFL scores on the new 1–6 scale and section minimums are not stated by East Texas A&M.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (Graduate School minimum) | 6.0 | 79; new-scale score not stated | 105 | 53 |
| Undergraduate | 6.0 | 79; new-scale score not stated | 100 | 53 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.0, valid for two years
Applicants whose native language is not English meet the requirement with TOEFL iBT 79, IELTS 6.0, PTE 53 or Duolingo 105, all less than two years old, sent directly by the testing agency. Each applicant is subject to departmental approval, and departments may set additional requirements. Conditional admission for English is not stated by East Texas A&M.
The only listed alternative is completing all years of a bachelor's or higher at a US regionally accredited university, so Indian degrees do not waive the test. For Indian applicants with a three-year degree, the handbook accepts selected three-year bachelor's degrees from NAAC A, A+ or A++ institutions with first class or first division. See the master's student handbook.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or Duolingo 100
Undergraduates submit TOEFL iBT 79, IELTS 6.0, PTE Academic 53, Duolingo 100, the Gateway English Test (405), SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 560 or ACT English 21. A waiver is possible after completing your entire secondary or postsecondary education in a listed country such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, New Zealand or the UK; India is not on the list. See international undergraduate admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement East Texas A&M sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the East Texas A&M master's student handbook page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at East Texas A&M?+
IELTS 6.0 overall band, less than two years old. Departments may set additional requirements.
Does East Texas A&M accept Duolingo and PTE?+
Yes. Graduate minimums are Duolingo 105 and PTE 53; undergraduates need Duolingo 100 or PTE Academic 53.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at East Texas A&M?+
No. The graduate requirement is waived only for a full bachelor's or higher degree from a US regionally accredited university.
Is East Texas A&M the same as Texas A&M University-Commerce?+
Yes. The university now calls itself East Texas A&M University, formerly Texas A&M University-Commerce.
How old can my scores be for East Texas A&M?+
Less than two years old for TOEFL, IELTS, PTE and Duolingo at graduate level.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Texas A&M IELTS requirement
- Lamar University IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy