Lamar English requirements at a glance
Source: Admissions' English language proficiency requirements. The 2026–2027 graduate catalog shows the same IELTS, TOEFL and Duolingo scores but lower PTE scores (53 and 58), so confirm PTE with Lamar. Section minimums and score validity are not stated.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, Category I (Computer Science, Chemistry, Engineering) | 6.0 | 4 (old scale 71) | 105 | 59 |
| Graduate, Category II (Business, Nursing, Education and others) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 120 | 67 |
| Undergraduate | 6.0 | 4 (old scale 71) | 105 | 59 |
Graduate: two categories, and the 48-credit waiver
Category II also covers Biology, English, History, Mathematics, Public Administration, Psychology and Teaching Spanish, plus the colleges of Business, Education and Human Development, Fine Arts and Communications, and Nursing and Health Professions. Send TOEFL and PTE scores with code 6360; IELTS score cards can be emailed as a PDF for internal validation. Conditional admission is not stated by Lamar.
The requirement is waived if you are from a listed waiver country, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, Nigeria, Singapore or the UK, or have completed 48 credits of secondary or post-secondary school taught in English. India is not on the country list, but the 48-credit route can apply to English-medium study in India. See English requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or Duolingo 105
Undergraduates share the Category I scores: TOEFL 4 (71), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105 or PTE 59. The same waivers apply, plus level 112 of intensive English at a US institution or English Composition I and II with a B or better at an accredited US institution. See English requirements.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Lamar University sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Lamar English language proficiency requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS in Computer Science at Lamar?+
IELTS 6.0. Computer Science, Chemistry and the College of Engineering are Category I programs.
What IELTS score does Lamar need for an MBA?+
IELTS 6.5. The College of Business is in Category II, which also needs TOEFL 4.5, Duolingo 120 or PTE 67.
Can Indian students skip IELTS at Lamar?+
India is not a waiver country, but Lamar waives the requirement after 48 credits of secondary or post-secondary school taught in English.
Does Lamar accept PTE?+
Yes. The admissions page lists PTE 59 for Category I and undergraduates and 67 for Category II; the 2026–2027 catalog shows 53 and 58.
What TOEFL score does Lamar need on the new scale?+
4 for Category I and undergraduates, 4.5 for Category II, or 71 and 79 on the 0–120 scale.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- University of Houston IELTS requirement
- East Texas A&M IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy