University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Georgia State University?

Georgia State's graduate minimums are IELTS Academic 6, with 6.5 recommended, and TOEFL iBT 69 (4 on the 2026 scale), with 79 (4.5) recommended. The Graduate School lists only IELTS and TOEFL tests, so Duolingo and PTE are not accepted. India is not on its exemption list, but a degree taught solely in English counts. Undergraduates need IELTS 6, TOEFL 4 or PTE 53.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Georgia State English requirements at a glance

Sources: the Graduate School's admissions page and Undergraduate Admissions' international first-year page. Graduate section minimums are not stated by Georgia State; graduate scores cannot be older than two years at the time of application.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate (minimum for admission)64 (old scale 69)Not acceptedNot accepted
Graduate (recommended minimum)6.54.5 (old scale 79)Not acceptedNot accepted
Undergraduate first-year64 (old scale 69)Not accepted53
Undergraduate, conditional admission (F-1 only)4.5–5.954–69 (old scale)Not acceptedNot stated

Graduate: IELTS 6, and the sole-language-of-instruction route

Georgia State accepts IELTS Academic (IELTS Online and One Skill Retake included) and TOEFL iBT (Home Edition and MyBest included), or an approved University System of Georgia ESL program. Testing requirements vary by program, so contact your program for its own bar. Graduate conditional admission is not stated by Georgia State.

You need no test with a bachelor's or graduate degree from an accredited institution outside the US where English is the institution's sole language of instruction, or if your native country is on the exemption list, which includes Australia, Canada, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa and the UK. India is not on the list. See Graduate School admissions.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6 or PTE 53

First-year applicants meet the requirement with TOEFL 4 (69 before January 2026), IELTS 6, PTE Academic 53, SAT Critical Reading 480, ACT English 17, MET 55, Cambridge 169 or a listed GCSE, IGCSE or A-level grade, or a secondary or college degree where English is the official language of instruction. Duolingo is not on the approved list. F-1 applicants with IELTS 4.5–5.9 or TOEFL 54–69 may get conditional admission through the Intensive English Program. See international first-years.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Georgia State sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Georgia State Graduate School admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Georgia State?+

IELTS Academic 6 is the minimum for admission and 6.5 is the recommended minimum. Your program may set its own requirement.

Does Georgia State accept Duolingo?+

No. The Graduate School lists IELTS and TOEFL, and Duolingo is not on the undergraduate list of approved tests either.

Does Georgia State accept PTE?+

Not for graduate admission. Undergraduate admission accepts PTE Academic with a minimum of 53.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Georgia State?+

India is not on the exemption list. A degree from an accredited institution where English is the sole language of instruction does meet the graduate requirement.

What TOEFL score does Georgia State need on the new scale?+

4 is the graduate minimum and 4.5 the recommended minimum on the 2026 scale, or 69 and 79 on the old scale. Undergraduates need 4.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock