Kennesaw State English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' international requirements, the Graduate College's TOEFL/IELTS waiver policy and Undergraduate Admissions' international requirements. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by Kennesaw State.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | Not accepted | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate | 6.0 (IELTS Academic Online 6.5) | 4 (old scale 79) | 115 (Writing section, as listed) | 58 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and case-by-case waivers
Applicants from Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Ghana, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Liberia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, the UK, the US or Zimbabwe are exempt, as are graduates of an accredited US college. Everyone else must take the TOEFL or IELTS. India is not on the list. See graduate international requirements.
The waiver policy lets the Graduate College consider requests from applicants with at least two years of full-time study, with a 3.0 GPA, at a recognised college whose primary language of instruction is English, or with the top level of intensive English at Georgia Tech or level 6 at Kennesaw State. A waiver is not automatic and may need an interview or writing sample. Graduate conditional admission is not stated. See the waiver policy.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or PTE 58
Undergraduates validate English with TOEFL 79 (4 from 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.0 (6.5 for IELTS Academic Online), Pearson PTE Academic 58, Duolingo 115 (listed as the Writing section), SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 500, ACT English or Reading 18, MET 77 or a Cambridge exam. Students below the bar can enrol in the Intensive English Program and apply for conditional admission. India is not on the undergraduate list of English-speaking countries. See undergraduate requirements.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Kennesaw State sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Kennesaw State graduate international requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Kennesaw State?+
IELTS 6.5, or TOEFL iBT 80 (4.5 on the 2026 scale). Your program may ask for additional documents.
Does Kennesaw State accept Duolingo for graduate admission?+
No. Graduate applicants who are not exempt must take the TOEFL or IELTS. Undergraduate admission lists Duolingo at 115 for the Writing section.
Does Kennesaw State accept PTE?+
Not for graduate admission. Undergraduates can use Pearson PTE Academic with a minimum of 58.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Kennesaw State?+
No. India is not on the exempt-country list. You can request a case-by-case waiver after two years of full-time English-medium study with a 3.0 GPA.
What TOEFL score does Kennesaw State need on the new scale?+
4.5 for graduate admission and 4 for undergraduate admission on tests from 21 January 2026, or 80 and 79 on the old scale.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Georgia State IELTS requirement
- Georgia Tech IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy