University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Prairie View A&M University?

Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU) asks graduate applicants for TOEFL iBT 79 and either IELTS 6.0 or 6.5: the Graduate School page says 6.0, the international graduate admissions page says 6.5. Freshmen need IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL iBT 64, and the undergraduate pages say Duolingo is not accepted. PTE is not listed anywhere, so take IELTS or TOEFL.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

PVAMU English requirements at a glance

Sources: the Graduate School's international admissions page, the Global Engagement international graduate admissions page and undergraduate International Admissions. Because the two graduate pages disagree on IELTS, aiming for 6.5 meets both.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Freshman6.564Not acceptedNot listed
TransferNot stated500 (paper-based)Not acceptedNot listed
Graduate6.0 (Graduate School) or 6.5 (Global Engagement)79Not statedNot listed

Graduate admission

The Graduate School asks for TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper-based) and accepts IELTS with a minimum of 6.0. Applicants who graduated from a US secondary school, or who scored 18 on ACT English or 400 on SAT Verbal, are exempt from the TOEFL. See the Graduate School's international admissions.

The Global Engagement page for international graduate applicants lists TOEFL 550/213/79, IELTS 6.5, ELS Language Centers level 112 or The Language Company level 9, alongside a minimum GPA of 2.45 on a 4.0 scale. It also says the GRE or GMAT must be taken within the first semester of enrolment. See international graduate admissions.

Free test: are you at Prairie View A&M University's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Undergraduate admission

Freshmen need TOEFL 500 paper-based or 64 internet-based, or IELTS 6.5, with a minimum GPA of 3.2, and the page states that Duolingo is not accepted at this time. Transfer applicants whose native language is not English need a TOEFL score of 500 or better. No exempt-country list is published. See PVAMU International Admissions.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement PVAMU sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the PVAMU Graduate School page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Prairie View A&M University publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does Prairie View A&M need for a master's?+

The Graduate School says 6.0 and the Global Engagement page says 6.5. Score 6.5 to meet both, or ask gradadmissions in writing which applies.

Does PVAMU accept Duolingo?+

Not for undergraduates: the page says Duolingo is not accepted at this time. The graduate pages do not list it either.

What TOEFL score does PVAMU need?+

79 iBT for graduate study and 64 iBT for freshmen.

Does PVAMU accept PTE?+

PTE Academic is not listed on PVAMU's admissions pages.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock