Rowan English requirements at a glance
Sources: the International Center's English Language Policy, its conditional admission page and the ECE graduate admissions page. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by Rowan.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate and undergraduate (traditional admission) | 6.0 | 4 (old scale 70) | 110 | 50 |
| Graduate, MS and PhD Electrical and Computer Engineering | 6.5 | 70 (old scale; higher strongly preferred) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Conditional admission (English Language Program) | Not required | Not required | Not stated | Not stated |
Graduate: IELTS 6.0, or 6.5 for ECE
Rowan also accepts the Pearson English Express Test (63), Cambridge English (170), ELS Level 112 and Level 5 of its own English Language Program with a 3.0 GPA. The ECE department asks international MS and PhD applicants for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 70, and says graduates of English-speaking countries may be exempt. See the ECE admissions page.
You are exempt with a degree from the US or a listed country where English is the official language and the medium of instruction, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, the Philippines, Singapore or the UK, or after 24 credits there. India is not on the list. See the English Language Policy.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Conditional admission and undergraduates
If you meet every requirement except the language score, Rowan may offer conditional admission. It is open to undergraduates and to coursework-only master's applicants, needs no TOEFL or IELTS score, and gives you up to two years to meet the requirement through the English Language Program or a qualifying test. Undergraduates follow the same policy, which also exempts SAT 900, ACT 16 or an IB diploma. See conditional admission.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Rowan sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Rowan English Language Policy page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Rowan University?+
IELTS 6.0 under Rowan's English Language Policy. The MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering asks for IELTS 6.5.
Does Rowan accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. The minimums are PTE 50 and Duolingo 110 for traditional admission.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Rowan?+
No. India is not on Rowan's list of countries where English is the official language and the medium of instruction.
Can I get into Rowan without IELTS?+
Yes, through conditional admission if you meet every other requirement. No TOEFL or IELTS score is required, and you have up to two years to meet the language requirement.
Does Rowan accept IELTS One Skill Retake and TOEFL MyBest?+
Yes. Rowan's English Language Policy accepts both IELTS One Skill Retake and TOEFL MyBest scores.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Rutgers IELTS requirement
- Drexel IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy