University of New Haven English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' English language requirement page, the international graduate application requirements and the undergraduate English language requirement page. TOEFL scores on the new 1–6 scale, section minimums and score validity are not stated by the University of New Haven.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, Tagliatela College of Engineering | 6.0 | 75; new-scale score not stated | 105 | 50 |
| Graduate, Arts and Sciences, Health Sciences, Lee College, Pompea College of Business | 6.5 | 80 (100 for MS Speech-Language Pathology); new-scale score not stated | 105 | 53 |
| Graduate, doctorate and PhD | 7.5 | 100; new-scale score not stated | 125 | 68 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 6.0 | 75; new-scale score not stated | 105 | 53 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.0 for Engineering, 6.5 elsewhere
Non-native English speakers must show English competency before they can enroll. You may upload a scanned unofficial score for admission review, but official scores are needed to enroll in classes (TOEFL code 3663). Waivers are not stated on the graduate pages, which name no exempt countries, so India is not exempt. Indian applicants send semester-by-semester mark sheets, and a three-year Indian bachelor's needs a WES course-by-course evaluation. See the application requirements.
If you have no TOEFL, IELTS or PTE score, or your score is too low, you can still apply. When you meet every requirement except English, you receive a conditional acceptance letter, and the I-20 follows once you meet the English and financial requirements; New Haven does not issue conditional I-20s. Doctorate and PhD programs and the MA in Industrial/Organizational Psychology do not offer conditional admission. See the English language requirement.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or PTE 53
First-year applicants show proficiency with IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 75, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 450, PTE 53 or Duolingo 105. Conditional admission is open to academically admissible applicants with no score or a score below TOEFL 75, IELTS 6.0, PTE 53 or, as the page words it, Duolingo 100. See the undergraduate English requirement.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement the University of New Haven sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the University of New Haven graduate English language requirement page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an engineering master's at the University of New Haven?+
IELTS 6.0 for graduate programs in the Tagliatela College of Engineering. The other options are TOEFL 75, PTE 50 or Duolingo 105.
What IELTS score does the University of New Haven need for business?+
IELTS 6.5 for the Pompea College of Business, or TOEFL 80, PTE 53 or Duolingo 105.
Can I get into the University of New Haven without IELTS?+
Yes, through conditional admission if you meet every other requirement. You receive a conditional acceptance letter and get your I-20 once you meet the English requirement.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at the University of New Haven?+
No exemption is stated. The graduate pages name no exempt countries, and Indian applicants follow the same English minimums.
Does the University of New Haven accept Duolingo?+
Yes. Duolingo 105 is the minimum for master's programs and undergraduates, and 125 for doctorate and PhD programs.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- University of Bridgeport IELTS requirement
- UConn IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy