VIU English test minimums
Scores are from VIU's international admissions page. Undergraduate academic and vocational programs, which include VIU's degrees, diplomas and certificates, share one table with graduate programs. TOEFL iBT is 88 (no section below 20) or 4.5 (no section below 4.0), and TOEFL Home Edition is accepted. CAEL and CAEL Online are 60, and Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency 176.
Separate scores for health or other limited-entry programs are not stated on this page, and VIU says programs may have additional requirements.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate academic and vocational programs | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (20 each) or 4.5 (4.0 each) | 60, no section below 60 | 115, no band below 105 |
| Graduate programs | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (20 each) or 4.5 (4.0 each) | 60, no section below 60 | 115, no band below 105 |
Conditional admission and online tests
If you meet the academic requirements but not the English one, VIU may give conditional acceptance pending completion of its English Language Centre at Level UP5. ILAC Pathway 3.3 also counts.
VIU accepts online tests such as PTE Online and TOEFL Home Edition for admission, but warns that IRCC may want a traditional in-person test for your study permit. A position on IELTS Online and IELTS One Skill Retake is not stated by VIU.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Who is exempt
Applicants with a high school diploma or a degree from an accredited university in a listed English-speaking country are exempt, as are graduates of a recognized two-year diploma or degree at an English-medium institution in such a country. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka are not on VIU's list.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
VIU's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 only for college, polytechnic or non-university programs. VIU is a university, and its working in Canada page names CLB 7 for the PGWP; whether IRCC treats every VIU trades certificate as a university program is not stated by VIU, so plan on CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and VIU notes that diplomas and certificates also face IRCC's field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does VIU accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic and PTE Online, 60 with no section below 60, for both undergraduate and graduate programs.
Does VIU accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 115 with no band less than 105.
Is IELTS 6.0 enough for VIU?+
Not for direct entry: VIU asks for 6.5 with no band below 6.0. With lower scores you may get conditional acceptance through its English Language Centre.
What IELTS does VIU need for a master's program?+
The same as undergraduate: IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0, plus a B average in the last two years of your bachelor's.
Does the VIU IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. VIU's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a degree or any other university program, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, and VIU's own PGWP page names CLB 7.
Keep reading
Related
- Camosun College IELTS requirement
- University of Victoria IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy