Camosun English test minimums
Scores are from Camosun's English proficiency page for international students, which also accepts Cambridge C1 Advanced 174 (no sub-score below 169). Camosun treats these scores as equal to B.C. English 12 with a C+, and says that if a program page shows a lower English requirement, international students must still meet this general standard; the Business Administration post-degree diploma, for example, lists only English 12.
Some programs, especially in Health and Human Services, may require higher scores or not accept certain tests. Scores on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale are not stated by Camosun.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Most academic programs | 6.0, no sub-score below 6.0 | 78, no sub-score below 19 | 54, no sub-score below 50 | Not listed by Camosun |
| Post-degree diplomas (general standard) | 6.0, no sub-score below 6.0 | 78, no sub-score below 19 | 54, no sub-score below 50 | Not listed by Camosun |
| Practical Nursing Diploma | 7.0 (S 7.0, L 7.5, R 6.5, W 7.0) | 96 Home Edition (S 23, L 27, R 19, W 27) | Not listed | Not listed |
Practical Nursing's provincial scores
Camosun's Practical Nursing page uses B.C.'s provincial nursing standard: IELTS with Speaking 7.0, Listening 7.5, Reading 6.5, Writing 7.0 and 7.0 overall, or CELBAN with Speaking 8, Listening 10, Reading 8 and Writing 7. The TOEFL Home Edition route is described as a COVID-19 measure. Three years of full-time, face-to-face English-medium study can also meet it.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Alternatives and what Camosun does not state
Applicants educated in listed countries can ask about other routes; India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka are not on the list. A Recognized Pathway Partner Certificate also counts, and Camosun's English Language Development programs need no minimum score, only its placement test.
A position on Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online is not stated by Camosun; it says other assessments may be accepted case by case.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Camosun's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Camosun College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic or PTE Academic Online with 54 overall and no sub-score below 50.
Does Camosun accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo is not on Camosun's list of external assessments. Camosun says alternative tests may be accepted, so contact international admissions before relying on one.
Is IELTS 6.5 with one band of 5.5 enough for Camosun?+
No. Camosun asks for 6.0 overall with no sub-score below 6.0, so any band of 5.5 misses it.
What IELTS does Camosun Practical Nursing require?+
7.0 overall with Speaking 7.0, Listening 7.5, Reading 6.5 and Writing 7.0.
Does the Camosun IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Vancouver Island University IELTS requirement
- University of Victoria IELTS requirement
- IELTS for nurses in Canada
- IELTS for Canada
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy