University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Illinois Springfield?

The University of Illinois Springfield (UIS) asks graduate applicants for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90 (4.5 on the new TOEFL), PTE Academic 70 or Duolingo 115, and undergraduates for IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 75, PTE 60 or Duolingo 105. UIS says plainly that English-medium education in a country where English is not official does not remove the test.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UIS English requirements at a glance

Source: the English proficiency requirements page. Scores must be from the last two years, unless you have been studying continuously at a US college or university since the test. The TOEFL code is 1787; for other tests, request an electronic score report to UIS.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Undergraduate6.075 (new TOEFL 4.0)10560
Graduate6.590 (new TOEFL 4.5)11570
Communication BA/MA, Teaching English certificate7.09512065
Legal Studies MANot stated88Not statedNot stated

Graduate admission: IELTS 6.5 and a high PTE bar

Graduate applicants need IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, TOEFL Essentials 9.0, the new TOEFL at 4.5, Duolingo 115, PTE Academic 70, iTEP 4.0, Michigan MET B2 (53–63), ECCE B2, Cambridge B2 First or ELS level 112. The PTE minimum is unusually high compared with the IELTS one, so IELTS or TOEFL is usually the easier route. Communication (BA and MA) and the Teaching English graduate certificate ask for IELTS 7, TOEFL 95, PTE 65 or Duolingo 120, and the Legal Studies MA asks for TOEFL 88. See UIS English proficiency.

Free test: are you at the University of Illinois Springfield's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Exemptions, petitions and Indian applicants

Citizens of listed countries are exempt automatically, including Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Uganda, Singapore, the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and Canada (except Quebec). Studying in a listed country also counts if you completed a degree there, 60 credit hours, or English Composition I, II and a speech class at B or better. India, Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh are not listed.

UIS answers the medium-of-instruction question directly: if your education has always been in English but English is not an official language of your country, you still need an approved test. A petition is possible for two years of full-time work in the US or a listed country within five years of enrolment (remote work for a company abroad does not count), for a master's degree from an English-speaking country, or for qualifying US or listed-country coursework. Credential guidance by country is on the applicant requirements page.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UIS sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UIS English proficiency requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where the University of Illinois Springfield publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for a master's at UIS?+

IELTS Academic 6.5 for most graduate programs, and 7.0 for the Communication MA.

What PTE score does UIS accept?+

PTE Academic 70 for graduate admission and 60 for undergraduates, with 65 for Communication programs.

My degree was taught in English in India. Do I need IELTS for UIS?+

Yes. UIS states that English-medium education in a country where English is not an official language still requires an approved test, unless you qualify for a petition.

Can work experience waive the English test at UIS?+

You can petition after two years of full-time work in the US or a listed English-speaking country within five years of enrolling.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock