🇵🇹 IELTS in Portugal

IELTS for Portugal — the €291 fee, nine centres and the scores to aim for

IELTS on computer costs €291 in Portugal, at the British Council and at IDP's partner centres alike. IELTS for UKVI is €313 at TUMO Lisbon. ielts.org lists nine centres, in Lisbon, Estoril, Porto, Vila Nova de Gaia, Coimbra, the Algarve and Madeira. Nova SBE asks master's applicants for a B2 English certificate.
  • IELTS fee: €291
  • IELTS for UKVI: €313
  • Centres: 9
  • Nova SBE master's: B2 English
IELTS fee
€291
IELTS for UKVI
€313
Centres
9
Nova SBE master's
B2 English

IELTS fee in Portugal

TestBritish Council centresIDP partner centres
IELTS on computer (Academic or General Training)€291€291
IELTS for UKVI on computer€313 (TUMO Lisbon)Not listed
IELTS Life Skills A1 / B1€208 (TUMO Lisbon)Not listed

ielts.org lists nine IELTS centres in Portugal, all on computer: the British Council at TUMO in Lisbon, Porto and Coimbra, and in Portimão, Almancil (Loulé) and Funchal on Madeira, all with One Skill Retake; and IDP partners English Exam Centre (Lisbon and Estoril) and Knightsbridge Exam & Training Centre (Vila Nova de Gaia, by Porto). IELTS for UKVI and Life Skills are offered at TUMO Lisbon.

ielts.org says prices may vary from time to time and may be subject to country or local tax; confirm the fee with the test centre when you book. Every centre listed here tests on computer.

BandLadder pricing in EUR for Portugal

BandLadder in EUR

One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.

PlanAccessPrice
Sprint Pass7 daysEUR 5.99
Quick Pass15 daysEUR 9.99
Boost30 daysEUR 16.99
Professional60 daysEUR 28.99
Professional90 daysEUR 36.99
See everything each plan includes

Start preparing for Portugal

AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.

Practice IELTS Academic →

The band each destination needs

RouteIELTSPTE equivalent
United Kingdom: Skilled Worker, degree-level studyIELTS for UKVI 5.5 each (B2)PTE Academic UKVI 59 each
Australia: Competent English (skilled visa eligibility)IELTS 6.0 eachPTE 47 / 48 / 51 / 54 (L/R/W/S)
Australia: Proficient English (+10 points)IELTS 7.0 eachPTE 58 / 59 / 69 / 76
Canada: Express Entry CLB 7IELTS General 6.0 eachPTE Core L60 · R60 · W69 · S68

Australia's Proficient English (IELTS 7.0 each) adds 10 points and Superior (8.0 each) adds 20, achieved within three years of the visa application. Canada accepts only IELTS General Training for Express Entry, and the result must be under two years old. UK universities usually ask 6.0 to 6.5 for undergraduate and 6.5 to 7.0 for postgraduate study. The United States sets no IELTS or PTE score for the student visa: each university sets its own, and some do not accept PTE at all.

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with the visa authority and the institution you are applying to before you set a target.

What universities ask for

Institution / programmeIELTS AcademicPTE Academic
Nova SBE (Portugal), master'sB2 certificate; IELTS score not statedNot stated
Nova SBE, International Master's in Finance or in ManagementC1 certificate; IELTS score not statedNot stated
University of Toronto (Canada), undergraduate6.5, no band below 6.065, no part below 60
UNSW Sydney (Australia), engineering6.5, 6.0 in each64, 54 in each
UNSW Sydney (Australia), business7.0, 6.0 in each65, 54 in each
University of Bristol (UK), Profile E programmes6.5, 6.0 in each67, 64 in each
Arizona State University (US), first-year, most majors6.053

Nova SBE teaches in English and asks master's applicants for a B2 English certificate at application, or C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management, unless an exemption applies. Its eligibility page names the CEFR level, not a test score, so ask admissions which IELTS or PTE result it reads as B2 or C1.

Toronto does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake and wants every score from a single test date; it accepts IELTS Online. UNSW accepts One Skill Retake but not IELTS Online. Bristol accepts One Skill Retake and counts tests taken no more than two years before the course starts. Note how the PTE bar moves: Bristol asks 67 for the same profile that is IELTS 6.5.

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with the university and programme you are applying to before you set a target.

Frequently asked questions

How much is the IELTS fee in Portugal in 2026?+

€291 for IELTS on computer at every centre ielts.org lists, checked 11 October 2026. IELTS for UKVI is €313 and Life Skills €208 at TUMO Lisbon.

Where can I take IELTS in Portugal?+

Lisbon, Estoril, Porto, Vila Nova de Gaia, Coimbra, Portimão, Almancil (Loulé) and Funchal on Madeira.

What English level do Portuguese universities ask for?+

Nova SBE asks for a B2 English certificate for most master's and C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management. Its page names the level, not an IELTS score.

Which IELTS do I need for a UK visa?+

IELTS for UKVI (or PTE Academic UKVI) for visa applications that need a Secure English Language Test: B2 is IELTS for UKVI 5.5 in each skill. Many universities accept ordinary IELTS Academic for admission, so check which one your offer names.

Official sources

Reviewed 11 October 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy