🇵🇹 PTE in Portugal

PTE for Portugal — the €275 fee, the Lisbon centre and the scores to aim for

PTE Academic costs €275 in Portugal, €16 less than IELTS, and the same as PTE Academic UKVI and PTE Core. Pearson lists one test centre, Rumos in Lisbon. IELTS costs €291 and runs at nine centres from Porto to the Algarve and Madeira.
  • PTE Academic fee: €275
  • Centres: 1 (Lisbon)
  • UK visa (B2): 59 each
  • Canada: PTE Core
PTE Academic fee
€275
Centres
1 (Lisbon)
UK visa (B2)
59 each
Canada
PTE Core

PTE fee in Portugal

TestFee (Pearson price finder)
PTE Academic€275
PTE Academic UKVI€275
PTE Core€275
PTE Home A1 / A2 / B1€230

Pearson's price finder lists one test centre in Portugal, Rumos in Lisbon (checked 11 October 2026). IELTS on computer costs €291 at nine centres.

BandLadder pricing in EUR for Portugal

BandLadder in EUR

One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.

PlanAccessPrice
Sprint Pass7 daysEUR 5.99
Quick Pass15 daysEUR 9.99
Boost30 daysEUR 16.99
Ascent60 daysEUR 28.99
Elite90 daysEUR 36.99
See everything each plan includes

Start preparing for Portugal

AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.

Practice PTE Academic →

The score each destination needs

RoutePTEIELTS equivalent
United Kingdom: Skilled Worker, degree-level studyPTE Academic UKVI 59 eachIELTS for UKVI 5.5 each (B2)
Australia: Competent English (skilled visa eligibility)PTE 47 / 48 / 51 / 54 (L/R/W/S)IELTS 6.0 each
Australia: Proficient English (+10 points)PTE 58 / 59 / 69 / 76IELTS 7.0 each
Canada: Express Entry CLB 7PTE Core L60 · R60 · W69 · S68IELTS General 6.0 each

Australia's thresholds are per skill for tests from 7 August 2025: Competent 47 listening, 48 reading, 51 writing, 54 speaking; Proficient 58 / 59 / 69 / 76 for 10 points; Superior 69 / 70 / 85 / 88 for 20. Canada does not accept PTE Academic for Express Entry: PTE Core CLB 7 is listening 60, reading 60, writing 69, speaking 68. UK visas need 59 in each skill for B2. The United States sets no IELTS or PTE score for the student visa: each university sets its own, and some do not accept PTE at all.

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with the visa authority and the institution you are applying to before you set a target.

Which universities accept PTE, and at what score

Institution / programmePTE AcademicIELTS Academic
Nova SBE (Portugal), master'sNot statedB2 certificate; IELTS score not stated
Nova SBE, International Master's in Finance or in ManagementNot statedC1 certificate; IELTS score not stated
University of Toronto (Canada), undergraduate65, no part below 606.5, no band below 6.0
UNSW Sydney (Australia), engineering64, 54 in each6.5, 6.0 in each
UNSW Sydney (Australia), business65, 54 in each7.0, 6.0 in each
University of Bristol (UK), Profile E programmes67, 64 in each6.5, 6.0 in each
Arizona State University (US), first-year, most majors536.0

Nova SBE teaches in English and asks master's applicants for a B2 English certificate at application, or C1 for its International Master's in Finance and in Management, unless an exemption applies. Its eligibility page names the CEFR level, not a test score, so ask admissions which IELTS or PTE result it reads as B2 or C1.

Toronto does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake and wants every score from a single test date; it accepts IELTS Online. UNSW accepts One Skill Retake but not IELTS Online. Bristol accepts One Skill Retake and counts tests taken no more than two years before the course starts. Note how the PTE bar moves: Bristol asks 67 for the same profile that is IELTS 6.5.

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with the university and programme you are applying to before you set a target.

Frequently asked questions

How much does PTE cost in Portugal?+

€275 for PTE Academic, PTE Academic UKVI or PTE Core, per Pearson's price finder on 11 October 2026.

Where can I take PTE in Portugal?+

Pearson lists one test centre, Rumos in Lisbon.

IELTS or PTE from Portugal?+

PTE is €16 cheaper but sits only in Lisbon; IELTS runs in eight towns and cities. Check that your university accepts PTE, and at what score, before you book.

Does Canada accept PTE Academic?+

Not for Express Entry: Canada takes PTE Core, where CLB 7 is listening 60, reading 60, writing 69 and speaking 68. Universities set their own PTE Academic minimums.

Official sources

Reviewed 11 October 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy