🇮🇹 IELTS in Italy

IELTS for Italy — the scores universities ask for, and the fee

Italy's study visa has no IELTS band: universities set the English requirement. Politecnico di Milano asks IELTS 6.0 for its master's (Laurea Magistrale) and 5.0 for English-taught bachelor's, and accepts General Training too. IELTS on computer costs €284 at the British Council and €290 at IDP-booked centres.
  • Study visa English test: Set by university
  • Polimi master's: IELTS 6.0
  • Polimi bachelor's (English): IELTS 5.0
  • IELTS fee: €284–€290
Study visa English test
Set by university
Polimi master's
IELTS 6.0
Polimi bachelor's (English)
IELTS 5.0
IELTS fee
€284–€290

The visa leaves English to your university

Non-EU students apply for the study visa through a pre-enrolment request on Universitaly. Universitaly's procedures say the evaluation of foreign qualifications for admission is the exclusive competence of the higher education institutions (Law 148/2002), and the page sets no English test score. Your university sets the English requirement.

What Italian universities ask for

Institution / programmeIELTSPTE Academic
Politecnico di Milano, Laurea Magistrale (master's)IELTS Academic or General Training 6.0Overall 59
Politecnico di Milano, English-taught Laurea (bachelor's)IELTS Academic or General Training 5.0Not listed
Politecnico di Torino, master's (non-Italian qualification)English B2 or higher; scores in its certificate tableNot stated on the admissions page

Politecnico di Milano does not accept certificates the issuing body considers expired. Its master's table also lists TOEFL iBT 78 (or 4.5 on the new scale).

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with Universitaly and the university you are applying to before you set a target.

IELTS fee in Italy

TestBritish Council ItalyIDP-booked centres (e.g. Rome)
IELTS on computer (Academic or General Training)€284€290
IELTS for UKVI Academic on computer€312Not stated
IELTS Life Skills A1 / B1€202Not stated

The British Council offers IELTS in 33 Italian cities, from Milan, Rome, Turin, Bologna and Naples to Palermo, Cagliari and Trieste. The IELTS centre finder lists 54 centres in Italy; Wall Street English Roma and International House Rome both charge €290.

IELTS is withdrawing paper tests worldwide from mid-2026, market by market; where a paper option is still listed, confirm it at booking.

BandLadder pricing in EUR for Italy

BandLadder in EUR

One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.

PlanAccessPrice
Sprint Pass7 daysEUR 5.99
Quick Pass15 daysEUR 9.99
Boost30 daysEUR 16.99
Professional60 daysEUR 28.99
Professional90 daysEUR 36.99
See everything each plan includes

Start preparing for Italy

AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.

Practice IELTS Academic →

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score is required for an Italy study visa?+

Universitaly's pre-enrolment procedure sets no IELTS band. Admission, including the English requirement, is decided by the university.

What IELTS score do Italian universities ask for?+

Politecnico di Milano asks 6.0 for master's and 5.0 for English-taught bachelor's, and accepts Academic or General Training. Politecnico di Torino asks B2 or higher for master's applicants with foreign qualifications.

Is IELTS or PTE better for Italy?+

Politecnico di Milano accepts IELTS for both its master's and English-taught bachelor's; PTE is listed only for its master's (59). Check your programme's list before booking.

How much is the IELTS fee in Italy?+

€284 for IELTS on computer at the British Council and €290 at IDP-booked centres such as Wall Street English Roma, checked 30 September 2026. IELTS for UKVI Academic is €312 at the British Council.

Official sources

Reviewed 30 September 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy