🇫🇷 IELTS in France

IELTS for France — the scores universities ask for, and the fee

France's student visa has no IELTS requirement: you need an offer, and the school sets the English level. Sciences Po asks IELTS Academic 7.0 for most English-taught master's (7.5 for its Columbia dual degrees). IELTS on computer costs €307 at the British Council in France, in nine cities.
  • Student visa English test: None set
  • Sciences Po master's: IELTS 7.0
  • IELTS fee: €307
  • Visa fee: €50 / €99
Student visa English test
None set
Sciences Po master's
IELTS 7.0
IELTS fee
€307
Visa fee
€50 / €99

The visa leaves English to your school

France-Visas says you must already be accepted by a higher education establishment before you apply for a student visa; students from countries in the Etudes en France (EEF) scheme apply through that platform first. The visa costs €50 for EEF countries and €99 for others. The France-Visas student page names no English test: the English level is set by your school, programme by programme.

Campus France says the application route differs by nationality, country of residence, school diploma and study level, so check the route for your country before you apply.

What French universities ask for

Institution / programmeIELTSPTE Academic
Sciences Po, most English-track master'sIELTS Academic 7.0 (some programmes: no sub-score under 6.5)Not listed
Sciences Po, dual degrees with Columbia (SIPA)IELTS Academic 7.5; One Skill Retake not acceptedNot listed
HEC Paris, Master in ManagementIELTS accepted; minimum not stated on the admissions pageNot listed (TOEIC, TOEFL, IELTS or Cambridge)

Sciences Po: language requirements depend on the programme, tests are valid for two years (for the 2027 intake, taken on or after 1 January 2025), IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted unless stated, and even where no English level is set for admission you must prove C1 English by the end of the two-year master's. HEC Paris asks every Master in Management candidate for proof of English unless they are a native speaker or took their whole degree in English.

Score requirements change and vary by program and institution. Always confirm the current requirement with France-Visas and the programme you are applying to before you set a target.

IELTS fee in France

TestBritish Council France
IELTS on computer (Academic or General Training)€307
IELTS for UKVI on computer€329
IELTS Life Skills A1 / B1€214

The British Council runs IELTS in Bordeaux, Lille, Lyon, Marseille, Nantes, Nice, Paris, Strasbourg and Toulouse. The IELTS centre finder lists 14 centres in France; Touchstone Educationals France also charges €307.

IELTS is withdrawing paper tests worldwide from mid-2026, market by market; where a paper option is still listed, confirm it at booking.

BandLadder pricing in EUR for France

BandLadder in EUR

One-time access, no automatic renewal. Free practice needs no card. Prices are shown in your currency at checkout as well.

PlanAccessPrice
Sprint Pass7 daysEUR 5.99
Quick Pass15 daysEUR 9.99
Boost30 daysEUR 16.99
Professional60 daysEUR 28.99
Professional90 daysEUR 36.99
See everything each plan includes

Start preparing for France

AI-scored mock tests built around your target score. Free account, no card.

Practice IELTS Academic →

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score is required for a France study visa?+

None. France-Visas asks for an acceptance from a higher education establishment and names no English test; the school sets the English requirement.

What IELTS score do French universities ask for?+

It depends on the programme. Sciences Po asks IELTS Academic 7.0 for most English-track master's and 7.5 for its Columbia dual degrees. HEC Paris accepts IELTS for its Master in Management but does not state a minimum on its admissions page.

Is IELTS or PTE better for France?+

IELTS. Neither Sciences Po's graduate requirements table nor HEC Paris's Master in Management page lists PTE, while both accept IELTS. Check your own programme before you book.

How much is the IELTS fee in France?+

€307 for IELTS on computer (Academic or General Training) and €329 for IELTS for UKVI at the British Council in France, checked 30 September 2026.

Official sources

Reviewed 30 September 2026. This guide helps you plan test preparation; check the current rules for your own program.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy